Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Surrealism.

Dudes,
YOu don't have to read all of these entries. I also can�t figure out how to switch this Italian keyboard to English keys, so I apologize for the odd punctuation. (Well, my punctuation is typically odd, like me, so you know from where I come.)

So...what a dream. Andrea and I met in the Piazza d2lla Republ!cca at 4:00, as we had planned. He had arranged to leave work early. Aww....He was standing there with a bouquet of beautiful flowers for me. He had planned to take me to one of my favourite churches (Santa Mari� del Carmin3), which has the amazing Mas�ccio and Filippino L!ppi frescoes (Branc�cci Chap3l), but of course, as usual, even though the church was supposed to stay open until 5 p.m., it was closed at 4:30. Andrea had an argument with the person at the gate, because, as he told me later, 'It makes me so angry! They get so much money from the state, these people, and they close whenever they want! But I was very gentle and polite, because you were here.'

Anyhow. I thought it was chivalrous. So instead we walked around in the Oltr'arno, which is one of my favourite areas. He had planned to take me to a very special cafe that is known for its chocolates. We listened to soul music, sat in a comfy leather sofa, and ate torta (for my birthday, of course), and drank a little bit of light dessert wine. It was amazing. Then we went up to watch the sun set from San Min!ato, of course, and afterwards he took me to get some dinner so that I wouldn�t go to sleep hungry.

I must say that it's a weird sensation to be treated so nicely by a man who isn't also trying to maul me at the same time. Everything about him is gentle and delicate. He seems to truly care about my feelings and want me to feel special. It's a very old-fashioned chivalry (putting on my coat for me, moving the car so it is easier for me to get in, warming my hands, making sure that I don't ruin my shoes by walking on pebbles). It's a bit unreal, because I have never in my life dated a Canadian man who treated me that way (or even remotely close to it), and also I must admit that my general sense of being undeserving is troubling me here. I honestly, honestly, can't for the life of me figure out why someone would want to do all of this for me. (He tells me that I am beautiful as I am and not to bother putting on lipstick. He tells me that it is truly a pleasure for him to spend time with me!) This is esp�cially true as I have the sense that if he were to make an advance and I said no, he would be OK with it. I think he's a true gentleman. But, hey, let's be honest. He has a bit of money in the 'mauling' bank by now, so to speak.

Anyhow. I'm going to have to sleep/dream on that one (the whole 'deserving' bit, I mean). We are meeting tomorrow at 6. On Saturday he is taking me to San Gimignano, I think. It's very nice. I need to spend enough time on my own, obviously, but it is nice to have the company. Today was a very beautiful birthday.

I think I'm off to bed. I've fashioned a sort of vase for my flowers out of a plastic water bottle. Strange thing to have next to a hostel bed, but there you have it. I am really, really, truly living a golden moment in my life. It's not so shabby to ho quaranta anni. You know, I realize that entries like this one are very stupid, because I was just treated like a special and honoured guest at Anna's home, so why would I be so surprised at kindness. It's funny how much lower my expectations are of men than of women. :)

|

9:20 p.m. - 2010-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08