Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There is never enough time in Florence.

Only a couple of minutes. I need to get ready to meet Andrea.

I took myself out for a wonderful birthday lunch (sarcisse e fagioli, insalata mista, ribolitta to start and panna cotta and caffe espresso to finish...oh, and di vino rosso e di l'aqua gassata). In fact, I have to say that this is the best birthday ever. I feel very much at peace. I sat for a long while in the sculpture garden in the Piazza della Signoria and watched the world go by. Everything is very slow in my mind and I am in this moment. I'm noticing subtle things in the fabric of daily life here. I am noticing the endless beauty of the place. I like the slow awareness that comes as you gradually, gradually peel back the layers of the place. I am not a tourist by nature.

Recently I was thinking the following: Look for the colour purple.

Everywhere, in Italy, you see men wearing lilac. It suits their apricot skin colour. I had forgotten that. What a feast for the eyes. The purple, not the men. :) Well, those too.

I got caught up in a tour group that passed by, which was apparently composed of French lesbians. I heard the tour director speaking French and so I joined in for a moment. (I was sitting in the piazza.) It reminded me of the line in Und3r the Tuscan Sun: "And my mind will be saying, 'Why the fu-k am I on a gay tour of Tuscany?'"

It was great.

So I'd better put on a skirt or some hose or at least some heels. And some lipstick. Of course Andrea is shorter than I am. But who cares.

Ah la vita bella.

There was something else but I think I've forgotten.

Oh! When I was sitting on the tarmac last night amongst the cell phone eating Italians, I read a line in the airline magazine, in an interview of a famous Italian chef (apparently a paraphrasing of Plato): "The appetite of beauty is the good appetite."

I also loved this one, from the exhibition in London:

"Nature presented to him to the world, when, vanquished by art through the hands of Michelangelo Buon@rotti, she wished to be vanquished, in Rapha3l, by art and character together." (From Vasari's Liv3s of the Artists)

|

3:09 p.m. - 2010-05-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08