Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The night of the carrot.

Hi friends,

I hope you are all well.

I've been making carrot cake for tomorrow's work party. I hate the grating the carrots finely part. I always fear that I am on the edge of grating off one of my fingers.

I might come into the 21st century and buy a food processor, mightn't I?

Naaaaahh!

I used to bake this carrot cake all the time for my university boyfriend's family. They loved it. I would make the classic cream cheese icing and top the cake with real (edible) flowers - so pretty and the cake is delicious (secret's in the nutmeg).

I have realized again this week how much joy can come from the physical act of making good food. I've made a bunch of Italian meals with fresh herbs, and little things like lemon-ricotta stuffed mushrooms for treats, and now I'm baking. It's a bit like a little, private symphony that one conducts, and it gives a lot of nurturance. Note to self.

A. (the one from work that I like) has invited me over for coffee and cake on Saturday. I'm looking forward to it.

C. is calling to no doubt harrass me. I'd best go. XO

|

10:09 p.m. - 2010-03-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08