Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dancing to my own rhythm.

Today was a great day!

I got to work late (oops!), but it was a super quiet day. We had a celebration in mid-afternoon (complete with champagne) (well-deserved - it has been a busy work period, and all of the overtime that we do is not compensated). It's funny, actually - Canadians think that public servants are lazy and don't work hard, and with this Fudge-It our operating budgets (and likely our salaries for at least the next two years after this one) are frozen, but in actual fact people in my department work very hard given the salaries that we get. We are certainly not pulling in private sector salaries.

I can't complain though. I feel happy. My promotion goes through after tomorrow. I don't know when the pay rise will be effective, but I feel super happy about this. I also got a commendation from someone senior today, so that was lovely. I feel good.

Anna pointed out something useful to me in my last entry though: to frame the things that I DON'T want to do this weekend (i.e. the bad habits I usually fall into and want to avoid), in positive terms. I take the point, but at the same time I am very much aware of what is is that I DON'T want to do. Sometimes it's neat though to have your thinking pointed out to you. I hadn't thought consciously about what I was saying.

That said, I'm now off on a run. After that I'm going to the art opening I mentioned earlier this week. Will be an early night, but still pleasant. Be well!

Also, note to self, my gay friend Richard told me today that he likes my hair at the length it is at right now (chin length, but layered - the short is growing out a bit). I thought myself that it was looking good, but I wasn't sure. Good to know. Maybe I won't fuss about it for a while then. ;)
XOXO

|

4:20 p.m. - 2010-03-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08