Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I wouldn't trade a thing..

I had such a wickedly interesting evening.

I went to that art opening. There were many very rich people there. I mean,$6000 handbags and everything. Some of the women were very, very beautiful, but SOOOO made up. It was funny seeing them checking me out, sussing out the "competition." I don't know - maybe looking down their noses. This was very surprising to me. I mean, I knew that there were some rich people here, but these people reminded me more of Toronto people than Ottawa people. Having basically worked as a diplomat in the past, I have dealt with rich people, only those people (diplomatic people) are often more intellectually challenging and less plain rich. Interesting. These people reminded me more of the people I knew a bit during my childhood (and was always repelled by). This time, I felt like more or less a neutral observer. I observe, generally, I find. I enjoy that.

What happened though was great. I went in a pair of black trousers and a simple black and white striped sweater - nothing fancy or expensive. In fact, I made no effort whatsoever. I just went as myself, in my cheap bureacrat's clothes. All of the clothes put together that I bought yesterday for spring cost $350 dollars, and I appreciate still that that's an amount of money many people don't have to spend on themselves.

So, in short, I felt proud to be myself. I felt proud to be able to talk about the art with interest and some knowledge. I felt proud to be a simple girl with simple tastes. I liked myself! It was wonderful!

I don't know why that should be a revelation, but beauty really is something that you can't buy. It's something that comes from your heart, when you're authentic and loving. It's a pretty cool thing. And it's totally free.

Priceless!

Bon!

Now, I need to lie down. So tired. :)

XOXOX

PS I talked to some pretty hilarious, drunk dentists, who had nothing more to say about the art than that it was "cool," but that, chortle chortle, they had no more space on their walls for the art on display. Gotta love that. I don't think I want to date a dentist. :)

PPS I wouldn't trade my books, my mathematical models, my makeup-free face, my interesting friends, or my crazy brain for all of the $6k handbags and expensive makeup in the entire world!

|

8:20 p.m. - 2010-03-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08