Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And the bacis are flying

Good morning, mes amis!*

*My attempt at a Rob!n Williams impression. If only you could hear the tone of my voice.

I just reread last night's entry and I realized I forgot to put a smiley in re. my hair. I'm not upset about it. I really do want to stop thinking about my hair. I'm quite nutty about it sometimes and it drives C. nuts!

(He's very difficult though, because he never tells me I look nice.)

Speaking of C., it was so funny last night to be with him. He had rented a car and so we left work at about 5:30 to pick it up. (Did I ever mention that C. and I work only one floor apart?) He called me up and said that he was going to change and that he'd meet me downstairs in 3-4 minutes. I shut down my computer (I always have a ton of stuff open on it) and went to the washroom quickly and I caught an elevator downstairs.

So here's the thing. C. has a SHORT memory. He's been late for me so many times. But if I get somewhere even 1-2 minutes after him, he gets pissy with me. This time he got pissy because he had been standing downstairs he said for 3 minutes. He strode ahead of me at high speed and muttering in German as I tried to keep up behind him. I told him it felt like living in Saudi Ar!bia or something. :)

I'm tricky though. I softened him up because I told him that as soon as he starts treating a girlfriend like this he won't have a girlfriend for very long. :)

Speaking of girlfriends, C.'s new girlfriend was with us last night. I still find her a bit annoying, so it was a good thing that the person C. met her through was also with us. Still, I have a feeling that this relationship with the girlfriend is going to be difficult. I was mentioning this diary (not by name), and the people I've met through here, and the girlfriend started making fun of me for having "Internet" friends.

I was quite annoyed. I like people in my everyday life, too, but I love the fact that I can meet cool people in other places through this diary as well. I see nothing wrong with communication of all kinds (I mean, provided it's not exploitatve or something).

The problem I encounter in Ottawa is that many people seem not to have very open minds. I always think that everyone must have an open mind and want to try new things, but in fact it is not true. Many people - everywhere, I am sure - are only comfortable with what they know, i.e. what is safe. To each his own with preferences, but I *loathe* being judged for mine. I know I'm way too sensitive, but I always feel a little bit "struck down" when someone criticizes me for something that I like and that is hurting no one.

Anyhow...no need to ramble about this.

Do you know what I was really proud of this week? I let go of the annoyance over the promotion really quickly and went back and did outstanding work. Don't get me wrong, as I'm going to keep on my boss until the paperwork is done and my pay raise comes through, but I'm simply not going to be childish about it. I'm going to steer my own boat as much as possible. To that end, I met with him on Thursday to define *for him* (ostensibly to have him define) my research priorities. I've put a plan in place for myself to accomplish a number of things before I go to Italia, and to move (p01itically speaking) some things forward. Quite proud of myself for being so assertive and self-directing, actually. It hasn't always been easy for me.

Incidentally, I think I'll get three weeks off in April or May. Now I need to pick the month. Tricky.

I just mixed blueberry juice with a strawberry banana smoothie. Not bad.

Tonight I have dinner plans and then drinks with a group of old friends. Economists and statisticians, mostly. I don't mind this once in a while. They are all very smart, this group, and the conversation is quite wicked. Of course the guy I'm supposed to be buying drinks for (to thank him for the favour he paid me last week), is bringing his wife and she's a real pill. Ah well, can't have it all. The fish gynaecologist who is friends with the group is coming as well, and I always love talking to him. He's wacky!

Love it!

So to yoga or to the gym. I think maybe the gym. I want to float around in the pool.

Gros bisous! (I feel so Frenchie! If only I could speak it properly. I need to study this weekend, else I'm wasting my French teacher's efforts to make me into a Frenchie El!za Dool!ttle. ;))

|

9:43 a.m. - 2010-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08