Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just a quick burst of rage. Over now.

Oh fugglebuck.

Quick entry. Back later. Off to the gym.

Had an impactful day. My promotion at my review was accelerated because my performance at work has been superior. I received the top rating possible. Last week I was able to do the impossible by getting something externally that we needed, jumping all hurdles. I was able to do this as a direct result of my personal and professional reputation. It was a very important piece of data, effectively for all of my big people.

So what happened today? I asked my boss if he had submitted the paper work for my promotion that is supposed to be effective in one week. No, no he has not. He has had three months. He even stated in November that he was going to get it done early so that this time I would not have an enormous delay as I did last time.

Now, given a variety of factors, it is likely to be delayed by a couple of months. Of course it will be efffective as of next week and I will receive back pay, but I hope you understand.

I know by now that it's not about me. It's about my boss being a brilliant analyst and not so good with administration.

I'm not going to take it personally.

But it did make me think two things.

Number one is that if I were a manager I would NEVER do this. I may not like a lot of people :), but I am always fair and I never aim to hurt people or impede their progress. I just let go, move aside. And if I've promised something to someone I face the issue directly and under normal circumstances I deliver it.

Number two is that I realized that this is really how it is in life. In most jobs, no matter what you do, no matter how much overtime you work, no matter how much integrity and discipline you have...no one really cares in the end. In the end, it is JUST A JOB.

This really got me thinking. I mean, not about quitting my job. I'm not. But it spurred me to realize how important it is to write that book or make that painting or go to flipping Florence and lovingly speak Italian until I am blue in the face, as soon as possible.

Love love love. Laters!

|

7:02 p.m. - 2010-02-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08