Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just complaints, really, although it began otherwise

I just got back from the gym and had a chance to read Anna's entry, so I'm sorry that I groaned about something that in the end will be a delay/technicality. It certainly will not be life or death.

I enjoyed the gym tonight. I will never be a gym person, but for now when it is grey and very cold and pitch black outside after work, I like the change in my routine. Tonight I was with C. and so we did not enter the pool. I did, however, get reacquainted with a range of weight equipment.

I also used a stationary bike and was marveling at how they all now have tvs on them. To be honest, I don't approve of either tvs or calorie counters on fitness machines. For starters, the calorie counts are almost certainly wrong for most people, and me especially. I'm sure I am burning LESS calories than they say, because I have lots of lean muscle mass and very efficient muscles (an adaptation from marathoning). People with slower metabolisms will also burn less. In general I do not believe in calorie counting at all, because it's such an inexact thing and the whole point of eating is to learn to listen to what one's body needs.

The tv thing is kind of on the same level. If you can actually concentrate on tv when you're working out, you're probably not working out hard enough. One should be able to talk whilst working out, but certainly not read a magazine or enjoy a tv program.

I don't know. These things all seem like modern silliness. My great grandfather would go out and chop a cord of wood and that would be that. I feel the absence of that type of society.

The other thing that bothered me (I know you didn't ask, but I feel like ranting a wee bit :)) were the ads running over the tv screens, for things like fat-free yogurt containing sugar substitutes. I believe that sugar substitutes are pretty much the worst thing ever created and no doubt are going to be found to be killing people, and frankly fat-free yogurt is silly. I really don't understand how Americans could put a man on the moon and yet we North Americans don't understand eating the way the Europeans do. It seems a simple thing, but we all eat crap packaged into little wee plastic things that we have to throw out, instead of real, fatty and delicious things in small portions. It's very strange. I shrug my shoulders. I will never forget the French engineer (boy) I lived with when I was 25. I remember coming home at night and he'd be making something - a little quiche here, a little pizza with tuna and cream and a fresh crust there, souffle...And the French woman I lived with in Australia who told me that at university they would all go home for lunch and actually cook something from scratch. It really does make us look like a bunch of mugs with our plastic food.

All that said, I did have fun. I think I will go three or four times a week to supplement the running and yoga and walking. Terrific! I love a change in routine, and maybe the tvs and so on will eventually bother me less. :)

I did do a couple of very positive things today, that did not involve ranting. I went online and bought The Art!st's Way. I'm very pleased that I took this step.

OK. Now that I've succeeded only in ranting yet again, I will express a desire for forgiveness and I will pour a small glass of vino and plop down on the sofa with my dinner. And no, frankly, I don't care if the vino and brie kill me...eventually!

XOXOX

|

9:39 p.m. - 2010-02-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08