Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

La joie de vivre

Ah sigh...another nice day, friends, although I can't get warm. It is, indeed, cold outside. Walking home I was thinking to myself that I could actually FEEL the wind blowing right through my coat. I was wearing my Italian wool coat. Clearly not warm enough.

For whatever reason, even now, I REALLY can't get warm, even following a long, hot shower. I do hope I'm not getting ill.

By the way, I can tell that I'm in the right frame of mind for online dating this time. I am simply finding it amusing. The same old cast of characters is sending me notes - mostly people who haven't read my profile and dudes who obviously spend their whole lives sitting behind a computer.

But do you know what? It really doesn't matter. I think of this as a means to oil the gears again, so to speak. I still think I'm more likely to meet someone out and about. But to be more aware and more open when out and about, I think it will pay off to go on some dates.

It all works out.

I'm more focused on my work at the moment, anyhow.

French class was good today. My favourite co-colleague was there for the morning. She had to leave by the afternoon, but that meant that I had the teacher all to myself and I could do some intensive study. It was kind of a crazy week, but I felt I put in a good one. I brought home work, too, but I'll try to be efficient about it.

This weekend is actually shaping up to be very busy. I have dinner with some old friends tomorrow night, and then I'm meeting C. and a group of his friends for a concert. Tomorrow morning for starters I have yoga and then probably a run in the afternoon.

Sunday, C. wants to go snowshoeing or cross-country skiing, which makes sense. Afterwards we have to back to IK3A to exchange something, and then we were talking about dinner and something else. Oh and of course a long run. I can't remember the something else... Geesh! My brain has turned to mush. But that always happens when I've had a patch of anxiety.

No matter.

I found an Italian conversation class for the winter! Registration doesn't start until January 4, so please do hit me on the head if I forget to register! I'll have to register when I return from Atlanta.

Honestly, I don't know when I'm going to do those paintings for my parents. Maybe I can buy some. (No - my mother would kill me.) Tonight I need to snuggle up on the sofa and get to bed early.

Be well and JOYEUX NOEL!!!

I know it's not Christmas yet, but even I am getting into the spirit.

PS It's not that I don't like gift-giving. I really do like to give gifts. I just don't believe in Christmas gift-giving. To me, it is enough that those of us who are well-off and healthy...are well off and healthy and enjoying each other's company. I find it wasteful, time-consuming, etc., to shop just for random gifts at Christmas. I think that spontaneous gifts that are special and targeted at a specific person are much, much better. If it were up to me I would never buy Christmas gifts except for those in need. I would simply go to church and have a lovely dinner with the people I care about. And then maybe a walk in the snow. I'm a simple person and I think my heart is in the right place about Christmas. I feel very, very uncomfortable with the orgy of gifts that no one needs. And of course my mother always gives me something very large and very ugly (as punishment for something, I'm sure ;-)). Bon! Bisous!

|

7:52 p.m. - 2009-12-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08