Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I did something funny...

Well it's been a year and a half since the last one...but I put up an online dating profile.

I KNOW!

It feels very different than the last time that I did it. I could tell even as I wrote the profile. I don't feel at all vulnerable. More importantly, I feel no expectations. I guess what I'm saying is that I don't care. I'm not in it to meet "the guy for forever."

I was thinking about it as C. and I went for coffee yesterday, though. I've tried to meet men in order to find simple dates. It's easy in Italia because I'm out and about. Also, there are many more single men in Italia over the age of 30 or even 40. Here in Ottawa, I have fewer opportunities to go out into large circles of single men around my age. I've tried art gallery events. I've tried the film festival. I go to yoga class. I've been getting out a bit more in the food court at work. I'm friendly to people in my French class. I'm volunteering. I've accepted a few invitations. All of the men at work are married. Plus, they're economists. :) Actually, the thing is that I can't be flirtatious at work. I'm hard core at work. My career is very important to me.

So still, no dudes. I see some checking me out on the street or at the coffee shop, but they never approach. But beyond that, at other events, it's not even that I don't get asked out: it's that I encounter next to NO single dudes.

I started thinking about it and I realized as C. and I were descending the escalator from the coffee shop, that I'd like to go on the occasional date. Just for fun. It doesn't have to be serious. I can take it or leave it. But going out once a week or once every two weeks with someone for coffee or a chat or a meal...could be interesting. Let's call it practise in being a more friendly Ottawa person.

I was walking from the drug store last night and there was the cutest man running by. Got me thinking that occasionally running with a group could be a good idea. And I'm going to join that outdoors club this winter.

Sorry, that was a long list. I'm sure I'll be crying the blues over the dudes thing very soon. But I thought I'd give it a go. Life is too short not to try something new every day. I want to shape my own course, but I don't want to spend too much time sitting around.

A big XO!

|

8:17 a.m. - 2009-12-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08