Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gearing up in Italia.

I'm back again!

Fifi's right - I shouldn't diss the Americans. Perhaps I got the only twenty who don't know where Ottawa is. I doubt it, but still it's not good to generalize.

I will generalize about one thing though - it's illegal to leave Italy without buying shoes. I only bought two pairs of shoes that I needed for work - one pair of black pumps and one pair of loafers - but I really, really, really want to buy a beautiful pair of Oxfords with heels. Yes!

So far I've been sitting on my hands. I don't want to shop on this trip.

Otherwise, I did a lot of walking once I awakened from my stupor today. I was over in the Oltrarno and up to San Miniato al Mont3 to hear the monks chant. Lovely. Very rainy today though - had to buy a new (large) umbrella from a poor Senegalese man in the parking lot of the Piazzale Michel3ngelo. Once he found out that I am Canadian we started speaking French. He has been in Italy for fifteen years and is able to go back every two to three years. He is here to support his family. I really feel for these guys. I asked him how he likes Italy and I suspect not that much. Italy really doesn't like these guys. I feel sorry for them. How would I feel if I were an economic migrant somewhere who had to sell trinkets on the street to feed a family? It's a difficult, difficult life.

Well, that's about it. Since I did some damage on the shoes today I think I'll eat some free hostel food tonight. Let's hope that the weather is nice and the drawing can begin tomorrow!!

Love.

|

6:53 p.m. - 2009-10-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08