Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've traveled so...short a distance as to be laughable. But Italian sheets are crisp and white. :)

Read back an entry for me dissing the Americanos. :)

Seriously though, I love you guys.

How's this for a great holiday? I went back to bed after I wrote yesterday and so it's noon and I haven't left the place. I think the rest of my trip will benefit from the rest though. :)

So...I realized that I meant to write that the American dude gave up his seat for me on the packed shuttle bus across the acres and acres that is the Frankfurt airport. Seriously, that is one impressively monstrous airport.

Second, I remembered that the tour company that does the once a year boat tour around the rugged coastline of Newfoundland in October is called Adv3nture Canada. What appealed to me is that it is not done on a cruise ship. It's done on some sort of a working vessel. It sounded sufficiently adventurous to interest me.

My grandmother was from Newfoundland. Did I ever mention that? The painting I most wanted of hers ever was one that she did of a field of flowers along the rugged clifftop in some place there. I remember telling her that I wanted it one day. I have no idea where it ended up. Perhaps it sold at a show.

So the interesting thing is that now that I've started doing all of this figurative work and I've had my stint with Italian art, I'm starting to crave landscapes again. And big, glorious, rugged and/or pastoral landscapes. Hence the desire to go to England and Ireland and then devote some time to my own rugged country. Funny, no? Perhaps I'll turn up a landscape painter like my grandma. Things come around.

So off I go. Out into the big world. As I noted, I think the rest will do me good for the rest of my trip. Clearly I overdid it in the last week of packing and working like a dog. I worked way too hard and my sleep hadn't been great since Friday. Made my immune system vulnerable, I think. I haven't been to the farmacia yet but I spoke with the hostel owner - who is so nice to me - and she will help me if I run into trouble again. She suggested first that I check out whether they could sell me an inhaler at the farmacia without a prescription. I love Italia!

OK. Gotta run XO

|

11:48 a.m. - 2009-10-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08