Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just a few quick morning notes.

Bonjour les gens!

Very cold and rainy here. So dark at 7 a.m., too!

I am glad that this time I used my sensibilities Canadese and so am wearing wool trousers and brought plenty of sweaters to layer under my leather biker-esque jacket. :)

So I think I must have a chest cold. The chest is clearer today and I'm less wheezy, but it still feels sore. Will have to take it easy. My garden plans might be put off until tomorrow when the weather is meant to be better, simply because it is rainy and windy today. Can you see me drawing in plein air in Wuthering Heights -esque conditions?


Well, I have something to say about Americans. I realized yesterday that if I'm likely to marry anyone from outside of Canada is is likely to be an American. I like that Americans are polite and friendly. Usually, at least.

My one trick that I always play on them though: tell them I'm from Ottawa.

This is my new party game. I run into Americans all the time on the connecting flight to Florence. Yesterday it was a group of middle-class, retired American couples from Chicago. One of the men very kindly offered me his seat. A real gentleman.

So they figured I was American. Americans always do, I'm guessing because all North American newscasters are trained to sound like Canadians. They start chatting.

Them: "We had a nine-hour flight here."

Me: "Mine was about seven hours."

Them: "Where'd you fly from?"

Me: "Ottawa." (blank stares) "Canada."

Them: "Oh. We flew from O'Hare."

Me: "Oh, Chicago. Lovely city. That is a long flight...."

I mean, I don't care that Americans are not interested in Canada. I don't care that they couldn't pull our Prime Minister out of a line-up. But seriously, if you want the world to stop laughing at your ignorance of the rest of the world you might learn the capital of the second-largest country in the world, the one with which you share the longest undefended land border in the entire world, the country that is your largest trading partner and your largest supplier of the resource you covet so much (oil), and that mostly undisputedly has sovereignty over the Arctic area in between your continent and the Ruskies. I mean, UH HUH?

And by the way, dull as it is, Ottawa is the fourth largest city in Canada after Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver.

I don't care very much about Ottawa, evidently, but it always seems weird when I have to explain to Americans, without making them feel stupid, that it's the capital of the country next door. And it would not be far off 9 times out of 10 that I have to do this, which is scary, because I almost only ever meet Americans who are traveling outside of the country and so at least 1) somewhat interested in other places; and 2) probably sufficiently educated to have a middle-class income and be able to travel.

I love you guys!

I'm off to brekkie.


Oh! Two other things that I've realized recently. One, on the plane yesterday, whilst reading about a circumnavigation of Newfoundland's coastline that apparently happens every year (MFV would approve), I think I want to do that next fall (I think the company is called Adv3nture Canada. Swimming in the North Atlantic in October. Sounds like fun, no?). If not, maybe I'll just do a camping tour of Newfoundland in August instead of coming to Europe again. (Still coming to England and Ireland in April/May.) Bon, huh?

I had another thought during breakfast and I can't remember it. Hmm...

The Italians are NOT out in their full colour in the fall. In the fall, they are all about the expensive boots, and otherwise black and grey clothing. Everyone is wearing boots and the short coat and or tights and or slim jeans to show them off. Last year I loved the look, but this year I'm not into boots. I haven't even worn my high-heeled ones once yet this year. I'm sure that next year I'll wear them again. I think I prefer more understated looks this year, such as oxford-style shoes with a bit of a heel. I'm wearing only sweaters I've knitted myself, as well. I think I'm becoming English!!! Anyone know a rich Englishman who could afford to marry me? :) I would love to live in England, but the cost of living is so high. I'd have to have one fine economics job to afford to live there and to save for property. Will have to arrange some kind of study.

OK. Will go off and figure out what to do for the day, dolls.

|

8:17 a.m. - 2009-10-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08