Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It was an event.

Self-nurture is so flipping fantastic.

Why didn't I try this before?

I'm enough of a narcissist that it should have been the obvious next step!

I mean, a $30 bouquet of roses has made me so happy. Who knew? I've never done that before. Thanks, Anna, for the suggestion. One is never so skint. And you can't take it with you. ;-)

It's very empowering to buy yourself flowers. It must be even more wonderful to grow your own. I hope I get to do that one day.

Tonight, I went to the outdoor screening of ROMAN HOLIDAY!

Sigh.

It was so great. The screen was set up under some lovely old oaks and the air was warm and the park lit by lamps. It was very sweet and summery and romantic (I mean, in an aesthetic sense). I thoroughly enjoyed myself and did not feel lonely for one minute!

How I adore Audr3y Hepburn's face. Barthes was correct in saying that her face was "an event."

Yes. Lovely evening.

I hope that tomorrow can keep up the momentum. I regret that the weekend is going so quickly. It's very hot though, unfortunately, which is the only negative. My apartment is truly unbearable. This afternoon I was forced to sit around in my underwear and a tank top and still I was nearly melting. It's like living in an oven! No need to go to the Caribbean!

I'm drinking ice water at the moment.

You're going to laugh, but I've never liked drinking water. They always say to drink two liters a day and I could never do it. I do like herbal tea, so I would try to get my fluids by drinking large mugs of that. So here's the thing: A few years ago I discovered that I liked water if I put ice cubes in it!

Yes, I did spend many years in uni.

I mean, ice water!

It's a good thing that no one ever puts me in charge of anything.

Just think what will happen if I decide to spritz lemon or lime in my water!

I won't call myself a dolt though, in honour of this self-care weekend I'm trying out.

I'm going to pour another glass of water. The ice cubes are coming. I think I'll add a couple of frozen raspberries to the mix. The possibilities are endless!

XO

|

11:34 p.m. - 2009-08-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08