Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I like it woolly.

Back from the film event. It was very experimental. I liked it - initially each piece would test my patience, but then, like yoga, I'd find myself convincing myself to stay with it.

I sometimes am conflicted though about giving "arty" pieces too much due. There were a few tonight that, whilst the artists clearly understood technique and were pushing the limits of process, reflected an immature consciousness. In a way, I wonder if process attempts to obfuscate a lack of knowledge of the world (through reading, travel, political involvement, whatever).

But still, there were some interesting works there. One of my favourites was a piece about Niagara Falls taken with a camera constructed to be of the same technology as used by Thomas Ed!son to take the first North American footage of the falls. Only this piece was from 2006.

The other piece that I liked, because I'm obscure in that way, was a piece called "Acrobat." No acrobats were actually involved, but the piece involved an unusual garbling of old film footage (early 20th century) with hazy footage of men building some sort of high structure. Not all of it was clear. Some text was printed on the pictures, at times, and limited music was used - something Japanese, I think, in the middle - and I liked the statement "leave what you need."

The funniest part is that I liked the latter piece mostly for what I had thought it was but probably wasn't: something about a 19th or early 20th century stunt over the Eiffel Tow3r. Or something like that.

There was another strange but effective piece that involved a fish tank being filled with black liquid. The black liquid gradually eclipsed white liquid in two tubes of different sizes. A white ball dangling from the top of the frame (on a string) gradually bobbed on the surface and then was submerged. C. observed that it was likeable because, unlike some of the other works, it had a clear narrative arc. What I liked was that in the very last few seconds or so, all you could see is black, except for a strip at the top of the tiny bit of light still visible (and the waving liquid in the tank) before the tank was completely full.

I liked it, anyhow.

MFV would not approve of my arty-farty contemporary art forgiveness/predilections, I am afraid.

Sleepy. My eyes are itchy. Allergies, I think. I've been looking at knitting patterns on the Internet (sweater-p_rning, as C. is wont to say :)). I'm going to buy wool in pretty colours to make a couple of beautiful sweaters this fall, rather than buy any clothes. Will be fun. Must prove myself first though by finishing the lilac cardigan. It's coming along. I've done a bit of knitting almost every day this week. Go me! Cardigan of doom is en route to completion!

XO

Do you know, traditional knitwear is one of my favourite things in the whole world. It's my favourite British thing, in fact, because the Brits do knitwear best. Gorgeous traditional stuff, and marvelous yarn quality. I just drool over all of the patterns and books (especially Row@n) on my favourite store's site ([email protected]).

OK. Sleepytime. Time for an herbal tea, actually. A good day. Tomorrow though I must plan for methods to get out and meet more people.

|

11:50 p.m. - 2009-08-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08