Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Delaying breakfast, really.

Fabulous. Fabulous. Woke up a bit puffy again but don't feel ill, per se. I slept for 9 hours.

Best get on to my eggs...

But I wanted to stop in to say that I did a little bit of research and I discovered that the free concert is taking place tonight in conjunction with the 5th annual nuit des musees in Europe. There will be five museums open for free in Florence tonight. San Marco will be open between 7 and 11 and some others will be open from 10 to 1. I am so excited! What a party girl am I - museum 'till you drop!

Fun!

Today I have a lunch. I didn't really want to go but there is a Norwegian girl here who is about 30 and seems to be a bit of an odd person out between us older ladies and the gap year kids in the course. She wants to eat at a top restaurant here for lunch. I figure...once in a lifetime!! I like to eat. Still, I have other places to go and see. Hopefully I will be able to get a heap done this morning. I am thinking that I will go to the oldest botanical gardens in the world, associated with a horticultural program at a university. And then maybe I will go and sit in my favourite piazza (Santissima Annuziata). I was THRILLED to find out that we will be going to the foundling hospital on one of our tours next week. It is one of Brunelleschi's masterworks....and so beautiful (what with the little swaddled della Robbia babies over the portico).

I love Florence. I love art so much! I thought about drawing as I lay in bed just a while ago. I drew my finger along a small crack in the paint in the wall and thought about how much drawing I want to do when I get home. Drawing gives me a feeling of peace and contentment. It slows me down, and it takes me out of my massively analytical brain. It probably won't help me to do my job better, but it will assist me in becoming a better-rounded person.

And Fifi: I won't disappoint. Will buy a sexy dress. Ooohh....sounds rather fun, non? The great thing about Florence is that I splash out every once in a while (e.g. on my birthday), but since I have my cheap accomodation and my courses settled, I spent very little in the last two days. Yesterday, including the artisans' fair I spent 12 Euro. Not bad! (Of course it helps when people treat you for lunch...)

Soooooooooooooo lucky. So happy. I can't wait to come back here...

|

8:06 a.m. - 2009-05-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08