Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quite a mish mash but terrific!

I hope you'll forgive me for not reading and commenting. Your comments were brill! Artgnome is correct that I AM in the moment here - that's exactly it! MFV was correct that Marco has been written off. Fifi was correct about the water.

Another lovely, lovely day.


So the puffiness, first. Not sure but it is either allergies or I am fighting a cold. I started out feeling puffy and grey and drab and so on. Through the day I started to feel more congested, but nothing came of it. Let's hope it dissipates.

The morning started out with the artisans' fair. Lovely, although Italian decor is not my thing. I did take some pics there, however, as it was set in the grounds of a gorgeous villa. Poor me, I know...

Then I met up with the girl with the apartment for lunch. She and her boyfriend are soooooooo gracious. It actually reminded me for a moment to be proud to be a Canadian. Canadians are for the most part incredibly down-to-earth and good of heart. They made me feel right at home. The girl also offered me her apartment next time I am here...for free! ANDDD...apparently she had told her journalist friend about me and he is...intrigued.

That's a nice word, don't you think? He wants to meet me. They also have another friend who is apparently in competition to meet me, although he is a librarian and so I am afraid that that sounds less appealing. :)

So that was interesting.

Then I went to class. The lecturer today was this Italian guy who is utterly hilarious. He's a bit ridiculous, really - more like a stand-up comedian - but worth the price of admission. He made the Medici bank rather less dull than it sounds like it might be, amidst the greater beauties of the place. :)

I was actually feeling rather tired, sniffly and sorry for myself after the lecture, so I wasn't that enthused about my drawing class. I got there and I am afraid I was getting frustrated during the first hour. I find the technique that they are advocating a bit frustrating. I find that - believe it or not! - I draw much better when I am not being so analytical about it. It felt rather like translating from English to French, when what you must do is simply start thinking in French...

But then things started to pick up - particularly after the Australian lawyer took me out for a glass of red wine during the break - and in fact my drawing turned out to be very good. The teachers seemed to be pleasantly surprised and as I looked at it I realized that it was the best in the rooom! It was actually quite good. I get frustrated sometimes because drawing is something that one needs to practise. I always fear drawing because I fear I won't be good at it. But I do have talent! It's quite nice to have that confirmed. It gives me a bit more confidence in returning to it. I loved it! So I am looking forward to next week.

So you are not going to believe this...but the model was actually chatting me up afterwards. Of all of the women in the room I have no idea why me. It must be because I stared at his private parts too much the last time! Turns out that he is an American dancer. And I think not gay. Unless he was just being friendly, in which case I apologize to him. :)

And then I was whisked off by the girls to a bar for the drinks session. I don't know exactly why I went - all BI types - but I actually ended up in a conversation with a very nice girl whose father is an MP in the British Parliament (didn't ask the name, but they are from West Sussex) and whose brothers all went to Eton, etc. She had done EVERYTHING even though she is just out of uni. Rather intimidating, but at the same time interesting. There was also a fascinating retired Englishwoman there who had worked for the Foreign Office all over the world. She was quit something. So that was not bad. Makes me realize how lower middle class I am. I don't mean this as a criticism; I actually patted myself on the way back home for all of the things that I have done in my life that I had to go out and get for myself. I am glad that I have a spunky spirit and have tried things, even if I will never be a world beater.

So that was all very interesting. M. has still not called. I wasn't waiting around for his call, however; I mention that only in passing. I am not thinking of him. I have already made plans for lunch at an apparently cool restaurant tomorrow and then I will be rustling up the girls (they put me in charge) for the concert at San Marco. Should be a great time. I think there is something on for Sunday but I have already forgotten! So many wonderful things to do. I worry that it will all be over too soon, but still I am packing the days and am loving it. Please do cross your fingers for me that I don't get sick!!! I don't want a cold.

Oh! I wore the pink dress today. Not the best of ideas. I garnered a lot of attention. Mostly, the English people loved it. The Italians noticed, but it's rather loose - not sexy as they wear their clothes - and I so I don't think I made that much of an impression. Though an old dude on a moped yelled out the required "Che bella..." (I can't remember how to spell ragazze...)

I should probably get myself to sleep. The thing I miss here is having access to something nice and soothing like a chamomile tea. Hostels are sometimes inideal.

I am trying to focus on the fact that I have a full 9 days left here, and not on the fact that I will be leaving in 9 days. Tricky. I am having such a terrific time. It is FABULOUS. LA lalallalala. Wish you were here. Will try to take some photos of the girls at the concerto tomorrow. :) Hopefully I will not get ill! Unfortunately I did not bring a sexy dress to Italy. :( Perhaps an excuse to go shopping? :)

So lovely. So lovely. I can't tell you how much I wish you could all join in!!!

|

9:37 p.m. - 2009-05-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08