Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another fluff entry

Very, very tired! I've been saying that a great deal lately!

Perhaps it was the half pint of Guinness that I had at the SE's lunch today; not sure.

Otherwise, I had a grand day!

It was still too cool, but it was somewhat sunny. I enjoyed our walk to the restaurant.

Also, my allergies seem to be moderating a little bit, so that is good.

I got up, had a nice bowl of cereal, put on a cute menswear-inspired outfit: stone-coloured pencil skirt with lovely pleating detail at the bottom, one of my favourite shirts (white with a blue pinstripes, button-down).

Upon leaving my apartment, I found BOTH a post card from M. AND a package from my mom!

The package from my mom had a container gardening magazine and some specially-picked seeds for me! My mom actually is a very accomplished gardener so I appreciate that she took the time to share that with me.

The post card from M. was so cool (and so unexpected! double cool!)! That stupid man - here was planning to NOT sleep with him (which, believe it or not, I also did NOT do last September) and he had to go and do that!

It was short and sweet. He had been on the ride in the Val d'Orcia that I told him was my absolute favourite. He said he was thinking of me on that ride and that he's looking forward to seeing me. Oh, and Happy Birthday! My birthday is going to take place WHEN I am there, which he seemed to know a couple of weeks ago, since he had a plan for us to celebrate, but perhaps he wanted me to have a card at home before I left. In any event, it was a nice feeling to know that someone was thinking of me and thinking well of me. I liked it. I set the card below my monitor so that I could see those beautiful, rolling hills that once I cycled.

So...what else? Well, I'm going to have to work like a dog this week. Things are on track but I find that my brain wanders when I am doing research. I need to keep things tightly focused so that I can deliver a bunch of stuff next week.

And don't get me wrong on this one, but I've decided that I'm going to take very few things to Italy. This time, particularly since I have Joan there who has impeccable taste and is a hoot to shop with, I am going to set aside the time and money to buy a couple of very special things (perhaps a dress at MaxMara and a couple of pairs of quality shoes). I have learned that I far prefer to buy investment clothes that will last for many years, rather than cheaper things that will not. I also like my clothes to fit properly, though not tightly. I am not happy with the tailoring in North America. The Italians know tailoring.

I know that that last paragraph sounds snobby, but actually it's the opposite: I'm pretty proud of myself because I've learned patience and pride about things. I want to buy a few quality things that I will wear for five years or more. The more that I do that - have a small core of quality wardrobe pieces - the more my desire to shop evaporates. It's difficult to explain. I want things to be things that I love and that I need for my life, and not things that I want to have to fill a void. I've become much more simple lately. And most of my desires are abating. I think that it's because I'm happy. I feel more confident and beautiful, just as I am.

So! That said, I should do something. I was thinking about sweating on my bicycle and then a bath. We'll see! And then knitting. The cardigan of doom is still more than half-unfinished. Oops.

|

8:57 p.m. - 2009-04-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08