Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There doesn't need to be a point.

OK, peoples�I must tell you that I have had an eye-opening morning. I am buzzing right now so I cannot wait until tonight to write this.

So I met the woman who has the apartment in Florence. She is amazing. I mean, amazing. Everything I would want to be: 43, confident, now newly in love with a guy she met years ago but who was married at the time, open about children (not judging herself, even though she doesn�t have any yet), very cool about everything, connected and with lots of friends. It was such a delight to meet her. I�m going to be meeting up with her and her boyfriend for dinner in Florence in a couple of weeks. Makes me a bit nervous � I�m such a nerd and kind of shy and retiring!

But! What is neat is some of the lessons I got from the coffee. The woman who pulled us together is a single mother who has seen the down side of relationships here in Ottawa, as I have. She�s struggled to maintain her confidence in light of it. At the same time, she is a bit older and much more experienced than I am (at work, that is), and so she�s socially much better connected. She has opened a window for me to the most amazing things�I mean, there are networks of cool, mature people here who don�t see 39 for a woman as over the hill�

Anyhow. So one of the coolest things that happened is that this woman said at the end that she�s going to think about me as a possible date for the co-owner of her apartment. She thinks that journalists make the perfect boyfriends for economists (and I might agree that a journalist would be a good match for me). What intrigues me about this dude is a simple fact: he got interested in buying the apartment without ever having been to Italy. He then decided to go over with her to see it, and then plunked his money down!

Don�t get the wrong idea, i.e. that I think I�m going to get a boyfriend out of this. Who knows if I will ever meet or like this guy. It doesn�t matter. What I got out of this is much more precious: the idea that being free-spirited and independent and a dreamer who makes his or her own things happen� is way OK. There may just be a future for me here in Ottawa.

Delighted.

On cloud nine, actually.

I would not have been shocked if this guy had been the guy I saw at the pub the other night, but in fact he isn't.

Things are funny. Things could go in a number of directions in my life. And how interesting is that?

|

11:34 a.m. - 2009-04-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08