Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scruffy but solid in pink

First, I'm really glad that manfromvenus is back. He has made so many wonderful, insightful comments to me in the past and I've learned from him. He doesn't think he's wonderful but I disagree wholeheartedly!

Very, very tired. I'm going to blame it on the weather. It's cold and damp and dreadful. You'd think this were England! ;-)

Just kidding. But really, it's true. I've never been so cold as I've been in damp, European cities in the off-season. I know you don't believe me, but it's true.

Speaking of England, I am SOOOO looking forward to running the London Marathon next year. I am not training too much at the moment, but I will very gradually ramp up over the summer and fall. It will be great. I'm quite excited to know that Anna's son and daughter have already started training. I love the energy that comes from knowing that others are in on the goal. Shall be fun.

I was relatively productive today, if you can believe it. Better than in the last week, anyhow. Tomorrow should be better. I feel the discipline growing again. I suppose we all have stages.

Thought I had SOMETHING funny or interesting to say, but it seems not. I looked at the writers festival program, too, and the sessions this week sound...weak. They're all politics or environment focused and I don't find the speakers to be particularly compelling (either because of their books or their political orientation). And do I really want to go to a festival after work to hear someone explain to me what it means to prorogue Parliament?

Uh no.

Next week, however, is shaping up to be interesting. Starting on Sunday there are some poetry sessions. There is also a mathematician speaking on Sunday and that is likely to be one of my favourite talks.

Monday, too, will have an excellent historian in town.

Kind of an odd festival. They have two per year and it seems that this one has a focus on current events and non-fiction generally. Seems we're not allowed to have fun during a recession. Don't you just hate that?

Speaking of recession, I flipped on the tv late last night, and since I no longer have cable I am held hostage by the one or two channels for which I have reception if I want to watch. Last night it was Jay L3no interviewing Martha St3wart.

First, may I say that I would detest being Martha? Martha seems to be genuinely bored by life. In a way, she reminds me of me, in that she's in high gear all the time and so probably is constantly in search of stimulation. I mean, who am I kidding...she is.

So anyhow, back to the recession...Martha has a new book on "crafting," since apparently during recessions we are supposed to slum it by not going out to dinner and staying at home with paint and burlap. Last night she and Jay took leaves, spread paint on them, and printed cloth. Jay was not impressed.

Martha also happened to mention that she has been hit by lightning three times. Two of the times she was with her ex-husband. She said with respect to the first one, without a hint of of a smile that I could see, that her husband had likely been disappointed it hadn't killed her.

I mean, there must be SOME fun in being Martha, but she...doesn't give that impression.

Yeah, I'm tired of the recession.

Of course it doesn't help that I work in the place in the country most obsessed with it.

I should probably quit this typical boring of you (boring through you?) with my unfocused "entries!"

I wonder what Jay will serve up tonight. Of course I could always put the tv on earlier and watch reruns of Cold C@se. ;-)

In other news...I am WAAAAY behind on that pink sweater I have been knitting and hope to take to Italy with me. It is not looking good. It's in 4-ply and kind of takes a lot of patience. There are only 18 days remaining. I suppose that now that the writers fest is off for the weekend I can click needles... :)

Oh! In bright, girly news, I bought the pink dress. It's not a bright pink, actually. It's perfectly proper for me. I feel I should say this right now, if only for MFV: I have never been a girly girl. In fact, I have often in my life wondered if somehow I am not as much of a girl as other girls. I felt this when I was young. I feel this now. I often look at women with their lipstick and fancy hairdos and long nails and their something...and wonder why I didn't get that gene. It just doesn't feel natural to me. That's why I'm struggling so much with what to do with my hair! Stupid me! Pink clothes notwithstanding, somewhere along the line I got the idea that I was a tomboy, a boy-like girl, and that has stuck. I often feel embarrassed and deficient around girly-women. Or at least I did when I was younger. I think what I've realized is that a lot of what we think is a woman or a man can be self-created. Everyone - I mean EVERYONE - fits on an external and an internal continuum of femininity or masculinity. And isn't that variety beautiful (like a rainbow)? Cue Cyndi Laup3r...(whom I adore)

Love you all!


Cyndi!

|

7:25 p.m. - 2009-04-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08