Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I more or less have a grip.

OK, so first I have to show you this:

Obama picked up a BEAVER TAIL!

The NY Times reported that he didn't eat it. I don't blame him; it's a greasy, glorified doughnut! (and yes - that's how we spell "donut" :))

Here's a proper article on the visit, complete with cool videos (PLEASE ignore the heinous advertising at the beginning of them - the middle video basically shows the exciting area in which I work! (NOT) And yes - that bulletproof glass on Parliament is only there for Obama. We don't worry about Harpo. :) In fact, there are usually no police or, well, any people on Parliament Hill. I walk in front of there at lunch sometimes: Obama visit to Canada, with videos

I've had a shitty few days. I won't complain at length. I stayed at work late the last two nights. I am determined that the bullshit at my workplace is not going to get me down. All I can do is take pride in my work and self-validate by knowing that I did a great job.

So yesterday my boss pulls me into his office and tells me that he looked at his email stream and that HR had pushed back on my promotion date and that he had, in fact, agreed to the November 10 date.

I felt badly because he didn't remember it and he didn't at the time think it important enough to tell me. It made me feel very unappreciated. I know that he hates administration, but still this shows a great lack of sensitivity.

On a positive note, he offered me a few extra days off, for free, to compensate for the two months of back pay that I will not get.

On another positive note, my salary increase might be 2k more than I thought it was - better than a kick in the teeth, as my mother would say, if she ever called me.

Ah well! Life is grand. Tomorrow I am going to that great concert after work. I am looking forward to it. I also bought myself two dresses on sale online today. I am confident that they will fit. If not, I guess that that will be my loss. They're so pretty though and they have daffodil yellow in them!!

OK, so one is almost ENTIRELY daffodil yellow!!

Can you tell that I'm currently in the throes of a Canadian winter, spending my days in a grey office with no window, and suffering from Seasonal Affective Disorder? Apparently that affects more women than men.

Anyhow. I'm proud of my work effort of late. I've also been gentle with myself. Instead of one-armed cooking I ordered a pizza last night and shlumped in my chair.

I'm remembering two lines from the Desiderata right about now:


Exercise caution in your business affairs;
for the world is full of trickery.
But let this not blind you to what virtue there is;
many persons strive for high ideals;
and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Welcome to Canada, Obama! (for the seven hours you were here)

Do you know, that C. has lately taken to calling himself C-bama? If he starts calling himself DR. C-Bama, I'm going to have to have him committed. Ego a bit inflated...??? Although in his defense, he usually does follow it up with, "Harbinger of NO change."

Smiles from the Daft Daffodil Lady!

|

8:27 p.m. - 2009-02-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08