Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Issues of trust and dough.

I realize that the biggest mistake a woman can make is to trust a man.

As Fifi often says, "Dudes are marvellous!" Nevertheless, they can't seem to do anything right without a great deal of nudging or monitoring from a competent woman.

Take that Jam!e Oliver fellow. I rather like his attitude towards Italy. But should I have blindly followed his pizza dough recipe today?
Photobucket

No.

It has way too much flour in it.

I should have thought in advance about the ratio of water to flour that he was suggesting and realized that it would not produce the dough that he promised. I started adding the water into the flour and pretty quickly I had to lift the dough out and leave half of the flour behind. I'll cut him some slack given that there will be some variation in weight by flour type and origin...but not THAT MUCH.

So my pizza dough will ultimately turn out a bit leaden, I suspect. I am sufficiently comfortable around dough to assert that this one sitting on my counter top is not a great one.


Photobucket

But Hello Kitty! is keeping me company and for what more could a girl ask? Photobucket

Furthermore, there are some marvellous icicles out the window (the one that opens).

Photobucket

All of this contemplation of dough, I must say, has me thinking that I ought to take mariastuart's advice and tell M. to get his ass back to Florence to see me for a couple of days. Honestly, at this point I'm so frustrated that I'd like to run at him with one of those icicles brandished in full appreciation of its spear-like qualities.

|

5:29 p.m. - 2008-12-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08