Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good will

One thing I find very interesting in life is the way that one finds other people wanting one to be weak, otherwise they feel somehow diminished.

It's interesting. But no matter. I'm not interested in this. If other people desire weakness they can retrieve it elsewhere.

I had a great day today. I focused. I lived. I had fun. I'm moving forward. I'm good.

I've decided to invite my mother up here to have a discussion, because I feel that I'm entitled to a face-to-face speaking of the truth. I've learned enough over the years to understand that she won't actually comprehend what I'm saying, but I feel it's my right to say it. I hope that she agrees.

Life is long and tedious. But when I think about it clearly I know that I've done my best. I've tried, almost without exception, to be the best that I can be in whatever circumstance that confronted me. I've been the kindest that I can be to others, often to my detriment. I can say this in all sincerity. Where I've failed I've failed. I can accept that.


So let's be honest: It's my time to appreciate myself. I don't need to wait. Dear Fifi has told me this repeatedly, but it's taking time.

I'm lucky, because people love me and are dragging me into their love. Thank you, people.

Oh! I ran into Justin Trud3au today. People around me think that he's some kind of a leitmotif for me. Each time I go for a coffee he's on the street in front of me. (Helps that I'm just three blocks from Parliament!)

Justin Trud3au, for the uninitiated, is the recently elected son of our former FAMOUS, SEXY premier ministre.

I don't say this lightly: his father was an intellecutal and the most interesting Canadian politician to ever have lived.

Sure, he was fiscally imprudent and imposed martial law on the country, but what's not to like about a dude who pirouetted behind the Que3n???

Really, what's not to like??

Unfortunately THIS particular son is an idiot. His brother is the intelligent one, but he's chosen a life of greater hardship and less publicity. Much to our detriment. Justin Trud3au, recently elected to Parliam3nt, is more Entertainm3nt Tonight, Canadian-style, than is his brother. He's an embarrassment, but was elected because he has a pretty wife who is a media personality in Quebec. C'est tout. C'est dommage.

But what can one say? That's the extent of excitement in politics in Canada.

I realise that I operate under the assumption that what we "are" is obvious, but it is very difficult for people from abroad to understand what we're all about in this cold country. On the surface we're quite American, but when you dig a little bit deeper the psyche is different. We've had a profoundly different history. No slavery. Conquering of the French in Canada whilst permitting them to retain their language and religion (shaping our future attitudes towards "multiculturalism"). Much greater income equality simply because we have historically been much more resource-dependent and MUCH poorer. This shapes a country. And the nuances - and I don't mean this in a disparaging way - are lost on Americans. Most Americans don't realize that the concept of exceptionalism - i.e. the American dream - is in practise much more readily achieved in Canada than in the U.S: income mobility is much, much higher here than it is in either the U.S. or the U.K.

Not that that's indicative of something wonderful; it's just a different environment. We had a Chinese Governor General and now we have one who was born in Haiti. Not an eye was blinked. And yet we have had the most craptastic prime ministers in a sequence, and lord knows when a woman will ever be elected to the highest office...

I don't know why I'm babbling of this. It's that I think it's interesting to be known, and in general no one wants to listen. :)

Namaste.

|

11:12 p.m. - 2008-11-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08