Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

You guys are great!

I will read entries and write a proper one later on, but right now I'm preparing to meet some friends for brunch.

I wish I weren't going, because actually I feel a bit hung over. I had a glass of cognac with my landlord last night, which was actually quite fun, but I guess that I'm not as adjusted to alcohol as I once was. Gawd I feel terrible. I'm sucking up the water like there's no tomorrow.

The conversation with the landlord was the best we've had. He admitted that he's 78, and at one point he stated, "Gee, I'm exactly 40 years older than you are."

(Uh, DUH!)

I told him all about Marco, and we talked about his daughters, both of whom are in their 40s and do not have any children. He had five children, and his three boys all have families. So it was interesting to hear his perspective/perception of what drove his daughters. He really is a lovely man, in that he was very honest about having a knowledge of his daughters' internal lives to a certain degree, but a distance in other ways. I'm not articulating this well, but he's an artistic man and his sensitivity to emotional nuance is apparent.

Knowing that he's 80 and still making an effort to flirt with a woman 40 years his junior makes me feel more affection (not of THAT kind, don't worry) for him. I do like people who fiercely refuse to be what is expected of them. Last night he told me that he had broken up with the girlfriend of whom he'd told me a while ago. It was quite hysterical to discuss, given that he was like a twenty-something discussing how light and free he felt now that he'd freed himself from the dame. It made me crack up, as indeed he did LOOK light and free. Not quite Pet3r O'Tool3 in V3nus, but close. Men. But whatever.

I'm really babbling. OH! I called a counselor yesterday. Apparently he is excellent. I'm not sure if I'll get in to see him. I called him at the end of the day, after I'd worked hard and had had a good day, so it felt like a decision made out of power, and all good either way.

OY. I really wish I did not have to go to brunch. My face feels as though it is about to fall off. I think I'll wear navy. Isn't that supposed to be the universally flattering colour, i.e. flattering even on pasty, plastered people? :)

A bientot, mes chers amis! Passez une bonne fin de semaine!

|

9:14 a.m. - 2008-11-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08