Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

plus �a change, plus c'est la m�me chose

OK. So another great day. Have you noticed how days get better and better as a holiday approaches? :)

I did put my foot in it at one point today, but I'll not talk about that.

I'm also not DONE with my paper yet. EEK. But I stayed a bit late and felt that I did four or five good hours of work on it this afternoon. I love it when I get into my groove. When I'm not in my groove it's AWFUL. And then when I'm in my groove I am enormously productive.

In the morning, too, I ticked off all five of the shorter projects that I wanted to take care of. So, ticking along...

Also, I did NOT get an email today from M. I am grateful for this. They were starting to throw me off. Now he's just a dude in Florence once again.

:)

I'm SOOO silly, I know.

So as I was writing my paper this afternoon each time I wrote "fractile," the spell checker asked me if instead I would prefer to use "erectile."

I was enormously amused by this. Even Oh mio babbino caro probably did not drown out my giggles. I also wrote the word "contestable" in describing a data methodology in my paper, and then I thought, "Why the hell did that word come to mind? Wouldn't, um, *questionable* have done just as well?" The words in the recesses of my brain are just begging to come out. And no one else wants them!

Yup. I'm twelve!

I can't think of anything else. I was feverish this afternoon, but it seems that my fever has broken, so hopefully my body is indeed kicking this sinus infection. I do love the whole self-limiting aspect of most illness. The body is such wonderful beehive of activity. I find it fascinating.

What else? Oh, a story. Here's why C. and I do not date.

I have been encouraging him to sign up for fun classes, since he's been down lately that the girl of his dreams didn't fall for him. He hemmed and hawed and finally told me today that he'd signed up for something.

Guess what he signed up for?

French for public servants.

UGH.

Let me tell you, first, that C. is brilliant with languages. He already has a bilingual designation in French and English after limited study, and although a native German speaker he has a virtually flawless (Canadian) English accent. You really wouldn't guess that he is German by his accent.

So I said, "C! Why didn't you sign up for sexy Spanish, as you'd said you might? Or how about pottery or ikebana or something? I mean, you want to meet GIRLS, not bureacrats already PAID to learn French who yet are SIGNING UP FOR ADDITIONAL REMEDIAL CLASSES IN how to say in FRENCH that you are writing a note de breffage and that SORRY you were on coffee break when the sheeeeet hit the fan. :)

UGH!

I mean, he has expressed interest in cooking classes at other times. He loves to cook! So I said, "C! If you learned the language of food love, you could have girls swoooooooooooooning over you. The public service code of conduct will not do this for you!"

Anyhow. I'm giving my look of bemused puzzlement to the computer at the moment.

I should eat something. I haven't eaten in hours. And then I DO need to get back to my work for a bit. :(


That's a giant sad face. And just to show how silly I am and how horrible the weather is here, I tried to take some more pics of my walk to work for you! Unfortunately, my camera battery ran out before I got very far. :)

Oops! I just live in hope that things will just keep going and stuff...

Photobucket

Photobucket

|

7:37 p.m. - 2008-09-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08