Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some quick photos and then it's back to Il Post!no

Oh I wish the weekend were longer! Because I've been so tired today I feel as though I've lost the hours since the ride! I think I have the beginnings of a sinus infection, because nothing can make me feel more weary and headachey than that. I feel rather useless at the moment! I think it's because I caught a bit of a chill last night. Oh well - another good sleep tonight and I'll be as right as rain.

Not many decent pics today - no mountain bike sightings :( - but I took a few simple ones of the usual sights.

I thought it was interesting that these two people up at the lookout were wearing the same colour of green. It felt like a "green" day. The colours in the picture are very harmonious.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Not many cyclists around, though a few:

Photobucket

On the way home I took a few of the sights around Parliament. The weather isn't helping.

This is of one of the bridges:
Photobucket

The National Art Gallery, built by Mosh3 Safdie:

Photobucket

Photobucket

I had an interesting conversation with my landlord about the building and he had a very "French" take on it. He doesn't like it as it is very spacious and light and glassy. He says that it should be more compact and filled with more art. The inner rooms ARE filled with art, but the outer parts are big and full of light and space. There are also some interesting rooms with sculptures and water features and giant skylights. I'm certain that the architect felt that the national institution should "match" the nature of the country - open and spacious. I like the gallery, but I agree with my landlord that it would be nice if more art were on display. The gallery has a wonderful collection of European drawings that are only pulled out for rare exhibitions. I do find the offerings a bit sparse.

It's interesting to reflect on the ways in which our galleries and museums reflect our national "character." I tend to object to oversimplifications such as this, but I have to admit that our institutions are often...understated, shall we say. They have a sort of humble grandeur at best. It suits the country, although I'm not sure that we should always encourage this.

There's also a statue of Samuel de Champlain up on the point above the gallery. He's holding his navigation device incorrectly in the statue. I've always wondered why they haven't set it right:

Photobucket

And here are some better pics of Parliament than I've posted before. I suppose in "honour" of the election call. UGH :)

Photobucket

Photobucket

A couple of houses on my street that caught my eye today, for no particular reason. :)

Photobucket

Photobucket

I'm sorry to be so lacklustre! I just feel tired, only not sleepy, since I've slept so much already today. :0

I'm watching Il Post!no at the moment. It's almost done. I haven't seen the movie in years, but I do love the innocence in the acting of the lead character. I'd like to think that any man can be awakened by sight or by language to the fact that we have all of the beauty we could ever want right at our fingertips. (Says the girl en route to Italia!) I love the poetry of Pablo N3ruda as well, as I've mentioned before. I have post cards of Pablo N3ruda's house by the sea over my computer at work.

Sleep and dream well!!! PS A pic from the archives for BoXx, to compensate for my failure to produce mountain bike man photos (he's rather like the Sasqu@tch, non? ;-)): Photobucket

|

9:01 p.m. - 2008-09-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08