Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A good weekend. The weekend is moving forward.

Oh good lord no more antihistamines. At least not C's horse pills!

I was knocked out again last night. I like sleeping, but it is not a good feeling to be limp as a rag doll and not able to do anything, including reading. Everything was wearying to me. I didn't even cook much of a dinner!

I feel great, though! Yesterday I really started to make a dent in my bedroom mess. I probably mentioned this but my mother had started to send me these random boxes a couple of months ago. Some of the stuff had been stuck in a room in the back of her garage at her old country house, that they had blocked for a long time with other stuff (i.e a garage FULL of things like canoes and my step-father's woodworking equipment).

So my living room space I've kept clean and functional, but as it is an old house without closet space, more or less, I had no choice but to stuff my bedroom full of stuff. It is a very large bedroom with tons of wasted space, but really it is a ridiculous garbage pile at the moment.

Well, I don't mean garbage. But I do have things in there that it is time to get rid of. I have university papers, university texts, boxes full of running medals and trophies and shirts. (I intend to cut the centres out of the shirts to make a quilt of all of the places that I have been and run, except for my Canada uniforms (I'll keep those in the faint hope that I'll ever have any children who will care about these things), and then use the remainders for rags.)

I also have a ton of clothes. I suppose the good thing about being roughly the same size as I was in high school, and only sligthtly larger on bottom than I was when running, is that I can still wear everything I've ever owned as clothing. Over the years though, because I was a student, I kept everything. I have waaay too many clothes right now. And it's not only because I've bought too many in the last two years. I have those IKEA storage boxes full of clothes that should have gone a long time ago - stretched out t-shirts, long-sleeved t-shirts, cropped pants. I keep on thinking that I should save them as I might wear them again, but really it is time to give these things to charity. I don't have enough casual time to actually be casual again!

So I've created a massive pile that is about three or four garbage bags worth of clothes that I will give to charity. They are good clothes. Someone will find them useful.

I also posted a sign above my computer that reads NO NEW CLOTHES.

My goal is to not buy any new clothes - except, if necessary, undergarments and such essentials, and maybe a skirt for work given my recent disaster- for at least a year. The order of the day will be decumulation rather than accumulation. I don't include knitting in this. I have yarn long-ago purchased with which I am going to be creative. And if I need to buy some new yarn for a warm but still professional cardigan for work, all the better. But those things marry the feeling good and looking nice with exploring my creativity and keeping my hands busy, so I permit this!

After I get back from Italy I am also going to go online and sell some of my nicer clothes. I have a few things that I have worn very little and that are nice items. I will sell them.

I'm totally focused on streamlining and simplifying my life, and breaking old habits.

I'm going to pare down my spending to the bare minimum. And so when my promotion finally comes through I'll be able to save more money each month! Good!

I really should start thinking soon about buying something. I really prefer country living. I think it is most likely that I will buy a small old farmhouse in the country. But then I will have to buy a car in order to go to work. :(

Anyhow. I don't want to talk about financial decisions. What I do want to
is continue cleaning up and organizing my life. I think that cleaning up space in your physical life definitely cleans up metaphoric space for activities and other people. I do hope so. I also have to remember to go out to cancel my cable, too. I hate that process of dealing with those people, so I've been avoiding it. This afternoon after C. and I get back from riding!

OK. That's all!

|

9:52 a.m. - 2008-08-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08