Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day off and Saturday cycling

So I took some pics on my day off (Friday), and also yesterday on my ride. I had no idea that they had turned out so well!

On Friday I went for a walk in the market. I almost never go there, mostly because it is always full of tourists. I have nothing against tourists - oh lordy that had better be true if I'm going to have an apartment in Florence! - but I prefer to stay away. I walked the perimeter of the market area before I bought my veggies, therefore, so you can see a little bit of parts other than the usual stalls:

In this one you can see the national art gallery (big glass thing in background):

Photobucket

The market area has kind of a decrepit, artsy feel to it.

Photobucket

It also has a very strong French influence. Many of the buildings feel very much like the buildings you'd see in Quebec City or even in older parts of Montreal.

Photobucket

A typical church of the area (very French):

Photobucket


Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And from my ride last night, with no cute mountain bike dudes on the road. (And of course, it hasn't even rained yet today!) Oh well. It was kind of lonely out on the ride - I don't really like being alone in the woods in the dark, as all it takes is one crazy guy in a pickup truck to end that one - but I will say that the Sur3te de Quebec did pass by me (two cute dudes in a white truck), and that there were families driving up to the lookout as well. So I felt relatively safe.

Photobucket

Photobucket

In future though I will ride on Sunday mornings whenever possible. :)

Photobucket


Photobucket


Photobucket


Photobucket

Photobucket

And to finish, a not-great pic of part of Parliament from below. When I return from Quebec I always ride along the path below Parliament, as it gets me to the locks on the Rid3au Canal. I live about a block from the canal so I ride up the side of the canal and past the locks to my house. I live less than a mile from Parliament. The Tower that you see is called the Peace Tower. The large, rotund section in the back is my favourite - the Parliamentary library. It's very ornate and beautiful. It has circular stairs inside that have glass or open bottoms (I can't remember). Women, therefore, were not permitted to work in the Parliamentary library until the sixties or some such foolishness, because it was traditionally considered indecent for a woman to wear pants at work (and Parliamentarians (also almost exclusively men) could look up women's skirts as they climbed to retrieve books. Just say no, dudes, eh? :))

Photobucket

|

11:10 a.m. - 2008-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08