Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some new potatoes and an Italian count, per favore!

You'll excuse this entry as I'm a little bit tipsy!

I came back from a ride and hit the sauce.

Actually, I've just had a half a glass of red wine, after some oatmeal (yes, I know!) and some pecorino.

A weird combination.

So I DID go riding. It was good. We are due for major rain tomorrow. The thing is that I don't know when. So it was a little bit sad to be riding all by my lonesome, as there was definitely no mountain bike dude out at this time. :( I wonder if he'll miss seeing me tomorrow. :)

Next week!

At least I have all day tomorrow freed up for art gallery-ing and reading and drawing.

A good ride

Anna and teranika both had excellent suggestions for hotel finding in Florence. I actually went to the one guide book that I have - sort of a mini one - and found a couple of descriptions of hotels that interested me. Unfortunately I then went to Trip Advis0r, a website I like, and I found that it was all griping people there as far as hotels are concerned. I gave up after a while. I think that most people want 5 star for 1 star prices.

I'll try again tomorrow. Maybe I'll do something rash like book a few days at an agriturismo. This gets me even more muddled as I have to figure out my one weekend away from Florence - Siena or Rome or Venice??? So many choices. I suppose I could choose between the Hepburns: Audr3y it's Rome and cropped hair and GREAT clothes; Katherine it's librarian meets Italian lover in Venice.

At any rate, I will cease and desist now.

Teranika's suggestion of Rick St3ves was a good one. I had been to his website before. I'll have to read one of his guidebooks for hotel suggestions, but I did find something hilarious about Italian food there:

Food in America vs. food in Italy (with pretty funny snobbery about the French).

OK. I've been tedious and long-winded today. Just for a change. ;) I'm off to eat something more. Maybe some new potatoes. :)

|

9:40 p.m. - 2008-08-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08