Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Headache-y today. Rats!

Yeah, you know, I'm a great failure at online dating. I'm so anticipating all sorts of gruesome results from non-reading and uninteresting guys that my profile reads more like a militant manifesto than a welcome or a hello!

Oops!

I don't know if I want to write much at the moment. I've had a headache since last night, and it happened right after eating, so I'm wondering if I had an allergic reaction to something. It is possible that there was wheat protein in the food that C. brought back from MOntreal for us.

Yes! C. showed up at my door with food that he'd brought back from this favourite Thai place we used to eat at back in grad school. So we went out to his place for dinner and then I took him out for gelato. Following the gelato we watched Once. (Again for me and the first time for Claus.) We sang along to the songs. It was nice.

I have a bit of an itch to get out today, though I don't know where. Perhaps I'll just go out to buy ingredients for cooking.

I did a lot of reading yesterday, particularly on that gluten-free girl's website, which is my new favourite website. It's not just about the gluten-free thing; really her site is all about discovering the sensual pleasure of all sorts of foods - and my favourite, rustic, simple sorts - that happen to be gluten-free by nature.

OH, and her love story is so endearing. It's really lovely. And her pieces on traveling and eating gluten-free in Italy. Love. Love. Love. Very sweet.

Without writing any additional thoughts about it I should link to the website, in case you want to check it out. I think the entry about accepting the proposal of her true love is entitled "yes." That might not interest you, but I thought it interesting that "yes" is a leitmotif in her life - from Molly Bl00m's speech in Ulysses: "And yes, I said, yes, I said, yes."

And the other "yes" in her life that also happened to be from her beloved's life is from a Y0ko and John story, and a very sweet story at that.

My yes has always been the one from A R00m With A V!ew, which we all know and please forgive me for mentioning this again and again. It must seem obsessive. My "yes" is this one, in which Mr. Emerson is telling Lucy about George near the beginning of the story:

"I only know what it is that's wrong with him; not why it is"

"And what is it?" asked Lucy fearfully, expecting some harrowing tale.

"The old trouble; things won't fit."

"What things?"

"The things of the universe. It is quite true. They don't."

"Oh, Mr. Emerson, whatever do you mean?"

In his ordinary voice, so that she scarcely realized he was quoting poetry, he said:

"'From far, from eve and morning,
And yon twelve-winded sky,
The stuff of life to knit me
Blew hither: here am I.'

George and I both know this, but why does it distress him?

(Aside: Mr. Emerson is saying this in the church of Santa Croce.)

We know that we come from the winds, and that we shall return to them; that all life is perhaps a knot, a tangle, a blemish in the eternal smoothness. But why should this make us unhappy? Let us rather love one another, and work and rejoice. I don't believe in this world sorrow."

Miss Honey church assented.

"Then make my boy think like us. Make him realize that by the side of the everlasting Why there is a Yes - a transitory Yes if you like, but a Yes."

So the link, where is the link? You can google it or type - gluten free girl dot blogspot. If you want to read the love story, it's in the essential entries on the right and it's called "Yes." And if you want to see her cool stuff on being gluten-free in Italy (I know it wouldn't mean much to anyone but me, likely :)), then you can search for those on her site.

OK. THat's it for me being soppy and romantic.


|

11:13 a.m. - 2008-04-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08