Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm so full and yet I keep on eating.

Oh my! I'm all phyllo-ed out.

I had plenty of phyllo for my spanikopita yesterday and so used the remainder of the box to make seafood pies, the recipe also taken from Modern Gr33k. They were absolutely lovely, but I confess to stuffing my face almost to the point of phyllo resentment. I'm still reeling from it, twenty hours later.

Fortunately - though not so fortunately for him, I realize - C. has remained in town for the holidays. I regret for him that he is not going to be seeing his brother (who lives in Chicago) and aunties (who live in Michigan) for xmas, as is his North American tradition. He is not staying for me. It's for a combination of dissertation (quite obviously), keeping the holidays he can book off in the bank, and plain old fatigue.

I've resolved, therefore, to spend the holidays providing a delightful meal a day to my friend C. Last night he made somewhat of a dent in the phyllo. Tonight I believe that it will be some sort of crazy sausage feast. I, as you likely suspected, am not much of a sausage-y person. But I do believe that C. would enjoy such an unhealthy meal - greened only by a coleslaw accompaniment - and so I am going to take myself down to the marvelous Budap3st and load myself down with some massive weiners.

Hmm. Can you tell that I've been wanting to say that for a while now?

:)

I was up late last night. My night owlish tendencies are in some ways tragic, as I also like the mornings and often miss most of them. Oh curses! Why was I not born able to function on 5 hours of sleep?

Do you remember that fake Gabri3l Garcia Marqu3z goodbye to his friends that circulated on the Internet a few years ago?

Well whether or not that piece was a GGM piece - and it seems fairly clear to even this uneducated reader that it was too obvious to be one - the writer had something going for him or her, as one line stuck in my head:

"Each minute we close our eyes we lose 60 seconds of light."

I mean, I love to sleep. That is the contradiction. But the aforementioned thought captures EXACTLY my thinking as I awaken at 10 a.m., draw the curtains open and think..."I've missed it."

To end this trivial entry with something thoroughly amusing, I'll tell you that they're just now announcing on the radio that the mayor is getting married. This is the same mayor who is currently being investigated for corruption surrounding his election, and who spends each morning in the news as a result. I'm not exactly sure why his getting married is news. Is it because she said "yes," or because this event provides CeeBC to meet its "balaced reporting" guidelines?

Either way I've discerned from this hullaballoo that being good is not a recipe for attraction of affection. I've been doing it all completely wrongly! Bribery, I say! Bribery will attract undying devotion!

Honestly, I'm joking. I suspect that you will be pleased for me but I've lately - as in in the last few days - been absolutely reveling in the freedom that I have in my life as a result of being single. My whole life still stretches before me and will yield many exciting adventures. I do not at this moment desire a boyfriend. Not one bit. This year will be a good one, but I will recap what progress I believe I have made this year in a later entry!!!! :)

Incidentally, I'm just loving the Internet right now. If you click on the Georges Seurat link you can see a great display of his sketchbooks. Go Mom@. Hmm...Mom@ link isn't working. Well, whatever.

|

10:30 a.m. - 2007-12-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08