Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OK. So I feel better, mostly because Monday is OVER!

And in spite of the fact that the entire fleet of Ottawa snowplows decided to congregate and idle in front of my house at 2 a.m. last night. I seriously thought it was a joke or that I was having a bad dream, but I actually got up, climbed over my bicycle, went to the window...and was confronted with monster snow-removal machinery including the giant truck that carts away the snow, all aglow with giant yellow and orange lights. They were like spaceships. Evil, loud spaceships landed in front of my house at 2 a.m., hissing and grunting and keeping me awake. I thought I'd complain, but I realize that...it's Ottawa in the winter. And snowy. Oh well. :) Too bad they can't just steam all of the snowbanks into melting and draining away, but whether the energy cost of that would be less than the cost of carting it all away is quite another question.

So we can thank the divine Ms. Teranika (plus Knutie on board :)) for the fact that my apartment now smells entirely like roast chicken...

...and the fact that I will spend the next hour stringing cranberries and popcorn on thread...if I can find my popcorn (which I couldn't, last night, and remembered AFTER I left the supermarket!).

I found the rosemary tree!!

I also feel great because you guys are so nice and supportive. Maria- I'll definitely buy the earrings, and I will wear them to celebrate myself on Christmas and New Year's. Fifi- I think that being an Alc0tt heroine is hands down the best compliment I have ever received. Just lovely. I actually thought of it as I walked through the supermarket and was snubbed AGAIN by Farrah from work who was shopping with her tall, handsome boyfriend. (WHY WHY WHY do girls like this have tall, handsome boyfriends? ;-))

I'm joking. I'm OK. And I have goat cheese to unpack. I'm going to make that goat cheese and fig and walnut tapenade thing for the Friday Christmas party(OOOPS I FORGOT THE OLIVES - all I needed to say was "tapenade" to myself and I realized that my attempt to shop so that I wouldn't have to do it later in the week...falls completely flat. OOPS!) OH well.

That's it. Time to unpack and start popping and stringing!

My apartment is starting to look like a small greenhouse. Unfortunately yellow curtains are still not adorning the window, but hopefully will soon; instead the gloomy blue ones that are unevenly coloured and so look like either denim or like a sky with clouds in it and that my mom donated from the op-shop bag that I think came from the cottage and that I LOATHE are still hanging there limply.

PS A friend from my old job sent me a picture of a guy who is a friend of a colleague who is looking for a girlfriend. He's a methodologist at the national stats agency. He apparently is a "good conversationalist and likes outdoor activities." (Gee, Tash, couldn't you have found me a rockstar dateable? ;-)) A major stumbling block is that he has the same name as my suave, aging gigolo landlord.

He looks like a gigantic nerd. And it's very funny but when I showed C. the picture he said, "He looks like me! You should date the other guy - the handsome one to his right, who looks like Lenny Kravitz." (Yeah, right. That will work. I suspect that he is dating the beautiful girl standing on the OTHER side of the single guy.) But I know that I should not be judgmental and I should probably give him a chance. And besides, I LIKE nerds. I carry a scientific calculator around in my purse, so that I can calculate effective marginal tax rates on the fly (I used to have a running pace slide rule, too, believe it or not, and EVERYONE should have a pocket book of sonnets or other poetic pick-me-up in the back pocket.) It really is NO WONDER that I don't have a boyfriend. No wonder at all. I AM SO JUDGMENTAL. And weird. I think I'm weird. No, neurotic. I think I've been called that before. :) WHERE is the popcorn???

|

7:16 p.m. - 2007-12-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08