Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fresh as a spring breeze

First, before I forget: Fifi, have a wonderful time in Ireland!!

I am beyond jealous. Of course, having Irish ancestors, I'm rather partial to the idea of seeing Ireland. Second, I simply adore the Irish. I love the way they talk. It's as simple as that. And by that I do not mean their accents. What I mean is that they tell stories. That's how I think of the Irish. Just as I tend to think of the English as sharp and witty. The Italians I think of as rambling and colourful and quite funny.

Canadians, I dunno...I think of as reserved, generally reasonably intelligent, and, broadly speaking, boring.

That's terrible!

By the way, don't worry about me. I am not in a way to fall for Andrea. To be honest, I am not in a way to fall for anyone. I can't quite explain why, but I feel when I look at a photo of myself with Marco from two years ago that I am looking at another person.

Most of all, I realize that I've grown to understand much better the limitations of relationships. More importantly, I've grown to understand that I might not want limits to be put on my experience of my own life. I might have quite a bit more to try before I figure out exactly the flower I want to land on, so to speak.

Anyhow, that's all to say...I don't want to have a relationship with anyone at the moment.

This morning was grand. To be honest, I was not feeling that well last night. I don't know if it is a virus or allergies, but I'm leaning towards allergies. I am just so tired and my stupid sinuses are clearly inflamed.

In spite of feeling under the weather, however, I had a lovely day yesterday. I did so much cleaning and organizing, and then of course I had that pleasant chat with Andrea, and then I...I don't know...made some snacks or something.

Unfortunately though I headed out too late to the supermarket and it was already closed. This is kind of a good thing about Ontario, and at the same time not: things are often closed. We still have a very old-fashioned approach to things. When I was growing up we had a very aggressive debate over Sunday shopping. For many years, you could not shop on Sundays. Nothing was open. That changed, of course. But still, many things close at 5 or 6 p.m. on Saturdays. The liquor store is never open late. (I remember when you couldn't order a drink at a restaurant or a bar before noon.)


I don't know. In a way I kind of like that my neighbourhood is still like that. Certainly, you will find nothing open after 10 p.m. At the same time, I remember calling my mother to tell her after I first moved to Montreal that I had bought a *good* baguette at 2 a.m.

Well, that's that. The point is that it is Easter Sunday. Everything is closed. So I can't buy the chicken that I had wanted to buy. Stores will be open tomorrow in a limited way.

I'm not sure what I'll eat today. I think we're in Di3t for a Small Plan3t territory. I'm going to have to combine my beans with rice to get my protein. Maybe I'll bake bread. I do have some eggs.

Funny, no?

So that was that for my food and walking. I have a lot of fruit in the fridge. When I got home yesterday and looked in the fridge, I realized that I am an insanely healthy person. Apart from some butter and some 5% cream that I've used for the occasional sauce lately, I have nothing in my house that isn't a raw ingredient (bulghur, whole wheat flour, brown rice), fruit, vegetable or pulse.

ANyhow. That leaves me a bit hungry - nothing is available without effort. I suppose I could eat apples.

I'm really rambling.

So this morning I woke up and cleaned out three more boxes from the spare room. They were just boxes that I had packed glassware in for my move, but taking them down to the recycling bin felt great (or, er...folding them up but taking the newspaper from inside them down to the recylcing bin). My bathroom is also finished!. Furthermore, I hung the curtains in the spare room. Slowly, slowly, things are shaping up.

C. is back from his relatives' tonight. I think I might be able to pursuade him to help me to start painting tomorrow, if the hardware store is in fact open tomorrow. I'll promise him some chicken pot pie (if I'm able to acquire a chicken) as payment.

I'm happy, dudes. It feels like spring in my apartment and indeed in my life.

Oh! Before I forget. Fifi: I would like your opinion on gladiator sandals and/or high-heeled sandals with a gladiator influence. I was against them at first but now I am not so sure. Summer is for change, no? :)

|

11:49 a.m. - 2010-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08