Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A lovely day

So...today has been OK. I have been modifying my behaviour, my ways of thinking...quite easily.

I went down to the National War Memorial for the ceremony. Unfortunately, C. wasn't ready to go when I got to his place, so we were quite late and couldn't see or hear much. It was a nice day though and I could hear enough of the children singing that I enjoyed it.

C., on the other hand, is in a very wired-up, anxious and all-told irritable mood. He was being downright rude, for no particular reason. I stopped in at the fair-trade coffee shop to get a coffee, and when I came back out a minute later he had left and gone home. I went over there and he apologized for being a dolt, which was a good thing as silently I had decided that I wasn't about to hang out with him in the near future if he intends to take his frustrations in life out on me. I'm near-family, but I don't need that kind of treatment without cause.

So...I came home and made myself a nice lunch. (Sorry that this is a bit of a play by play, but I'm working through this.) I was feeling kind of tired and possibly on the edge of being sick, but I thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon. It's easy to remember that 1) I'm lucky to have a wonderful, quiet, pretty place; and 2) I'm lucky to have a good, secure job as a launching point to the things that I need and want.

So that was nice. I didn't think. I meditated. I tasted and thought. I had a small glass of Chianti with lunch, which takes me back to Italy. I was in Montepulciano. I was in Arezzo with Marco.

All good.

I prefer to drink wine in mid-day, actually, to at night. In fact, I think it's the way to go. Then it doesn't interrupt one's sleep.

I'm rambling. But here's the exciting thing. I went looking for my superintendent given that I am still missing my mail key, and I found him painting on the roof. I got to hang out on the roof near sunset with him, which was fun as he said that no one else has been permitted up there in twelve years. It was pretty cool. I could see all of the city, and he mentioned that when the building was first built in the 1890s it was by far the largest thing between here and the Parliament Buildings and was a hotel! In fact, since I know a little bit of the history of the area, I know that it must have been pretty much the only thing around. At that time, this area was mostly market gardens and hunting grounds; homes only began to be built in the broad area in the 1870s. In fact, my street didn't exist at that time. This gelled with what the super said, as well, as he mentioned that a foreign dignitary used to hunt from here.

Adding to the interesting facts, apparently on the roof of the building during its hotel days there was a cafe. High tea could be taken with a view to the Peace Tower and the river. It must have been wonderful. Furthermore, and this is rather exciting, apparently the Spanish embassy occupied the entire floor on which I am living during the period between the World Wars. Pretty cool, no? During WWI the building had operated as a barracks for English officers, apparently. Would be interesting to know more.

So I must say that my instincts are pretty good about places. It is the largest building around (although not high), and it's old relative to the neighbourhood and the city in general. It's an unusual building. It's a landmark, in fact. Apparently some local guy - the super didn't know much about him, but the super's wife supposedly knows him - knows a ton about the place and is preparing a document on it. I hope to learn more. In fact, I should do the archival research myself. Perhaps I could use it as inspiration for a book. I have a feeling that I was meant to live here. I am a historian in my heart, after all (when not a preening, self-indulgent, anxious Italiaphile :)).

That was a jumble of things. Al'lora. The point was to lay it out. I'm in the moment today, as much as possible. I'm being patient with life, whilst keeping one eye open for opportunities. It's the only thing that has ever worked; it's the only thing that will ever work.

Shall I do something else today? Must think (or rather let it roll and roll with it ;)). The sun is nearly gone.

XO

(Added later: Hmm...A community society page lists my building as having been built in 1915, which was my earlier estimate of the date of building. It could definitely be older, however, and it would surprise me if everything my super said is untrue. There also appears on an 1895 map a large black square exactly where my building is located. Of course it could be an earlier building (a hotel), on which site my building was built. I don't think so! But I'll investigate further!)

|

4:26 p.m. - 2009-11-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08