Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Melange of rehashed thoughts.

I awoke this morning with a bit of a revelation!

I mean, perhaps not a revelation - I've hinted at this before - but an interesting statistic.

I realized that I have not SERIOUSLY dated/been interested in a Canadian man since 1997. In fact, I have never been in love with a Canadian man. I had one boyfriend for three years when I was in my mid-twenties who was a nice man, but I was not in love with him.

Shocking, no?

It's the masculine culture thing. I like men who are openly emotional, openly compassionate, not career or sports obsessed. There are so few of those here. Most of them are gay. And unfortunately St3phen Lewis is taken.

So...seriously...eerie. No wonder I don't like men here!

It makes me wonder if I need to start actually dating those younger dudes who ask me out. I think that younger dudes have a better balance in terms of emotion. They certainly seem more accepting of women who are on an equal par to them career- or education- wise (they'd have to be, or they wouldn't get any dates, since women are exceeding men in education here in leaps and bounds, in many fields).

Hmm...interesting.

Anyhow. Not sure why I mentioned that. I am not obsessed with getting a boyfriend these days. I wake up satisfied with life. That's a relief. I think I'm still thinking through the Marco attraction though. He has many not great qualities, but he has many lovely qualities.

The guy from Minnesota was actually a very, very nice, gentleman-like guy. I would have dated him were he not so far away. His grammar and spelling are also atrocious - not particularly intellectual, I suspect. A nice guy. But his family immigrated to North America from somewhere in Europe, I think (though I really don't know where). I met his parents and his uncle and sister. Very nice. Not sure if that plays a role.

Ah well, who cares. Just an observation. I suspect that men the world over are going to be disappointing to me. All of the good ones have been taken by women savvier than I. :)

It looks like a LOVELY day today. I hope I can make it up to Parliament.

I seriously need to go online and buy some trousers. Do you know, I have NO trousers for work that still fit me? I used to be so skinny from running. I've put on an inch or two in the last year or two. It feels good to have some meat on my bones. But..I need some pants. Last winter I wore only skirts. And I need to buy some tights.

Sorry for the shopping lists. Comments on my biases and stupidity are welcome. Open season!

By the way, the movie about couscous even ended up to be depressing in the end! I won't give it away though (in case couscous interests you).

Have a LOVELY day.

C. keeps on saying, "All aboard the EB couch." I feel like that, too. I wish I could stay home and lounge about like a lady who lunches. Alas the nation needs me. Or at least it thinks it does. ;-)

|

8:36 a.m. - 2009-09-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08