Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And in the garden she did sit and dream of a sugar daddy.

You guys are awesome!!

This is, indeed, turning out to be a fabulous trip! More of a girls' trip than anything, but what is wrong with that?

First, let me say that I know you wish me happiness every day, Fifi! No worries! I do not put that much stock in birthdays.

Having said that, I think that M.'s behaviour is bullshit. I know that he is busy and I know exactly what he had in mind: He sent me the card and then TOLD me that he would be calling me when he gets back. He thinks that he has everything covered.

But for me I just think that is crap. He's going out of his way to say that I can't expect anything, that we're just friends. But if we were really just friends it would be so normal and natural to send a quick text or email from his Blackberry. Yes! He now has a blackberry. I think it's serious, serious BS and I am annoyed. I was in the shower this morning and I was thinking that I would get angry with him when he calls, tell him that it is bullshit. What do you think? I mean, really, would you treat a friend that way who had traveled all the way to your country? But on the other hand I know that in his head he had arranged everything perfectly, so as not to offend.

SIGH.

Nevermind. I understand the circumstances. I did want to have a little bit of fun with someone I like when here...but whatever. I will face that when it comes to it.

So..on to other things. The greatest indignity that can happen to you in a hostel happened last night. I was awakened by an Australian girl who had decided that it was OK to bring back a guy to have sex in a girls' dormitory. I had half a mind to get up and tell him to get out, but then on the other hand I didn't want to be the major beeeetch. I don't know. They were around the corner, in the other end of the room, so I couldn't see which of two girls over there it was. I wanted to strangle her this morning. If I run into the one I think it was this morning I think I'm going to say something. Nasty. Very low class. I hate it when people pull crap like that. Otherwise, the girls in my room are sweet. There was even an older lady in there who left this morning...

So the Four Seasons yeterday was a blast. I didn't take any photos because it was sort of a self-conscious not wanting to be too obvious sort of thing. I didn't want to offend Joan's sensibilities, as she rather likes to Posh it up. It was quite hysterical though. The hotel has 11 acres of grounds in the middle of Florence. We sat in this gorgeous walled enclosure behind a restored palazzo and listened to the birds chirp. I can't wait to go back there to take in more of the Donat3lla Versace type of Italian who was in there (I mean in looks...never understand why an Italian would go blonde...but that is just me). Quite a scream. More pink satin pants than you could shake a stick at, and a guy at the next table in a beautiful suit looked rather like Richard Simmons with gaudy blonde highlights. He had a young bella with him and it took all of my might not to turn to her and 1) suggest that she go back to high school and 2) ask if her daddy knew where she was.

But then again, maybe he was her...erm...daddy.

:)

So I have fun.

Unfortunately my blisters are so bad this morning that I have to wear my heels today. The blisters hit exactly the wrong spots in my flats. If only I had thought to bring my slingback flats...though I suppose this is Italia and I could go around the corner to Bata even and pick up a pair. PErhaps that's the best strategy.

Oh! So! When I go back to the Quattro Staggiones I will definitely take photos or a video or two. Joan and I took a couple of small videos at the coffee shop late last night, but I can't post them yet.

Today we have a tour of a church. I always love those. I am very passionate about churches, I find. I think that today I will either go back to SS Annunziata or on to San Marco. I find that the San Marco part of the course (San Marco is a monastery) will take place the week after I leave. Heartbreaking! It is heartbreaking not to do the whole course. I need to plan, like the other ladies in the course, to not take a vacation but rather take a leave from work and truly pursue these things. I guess I am putting out the feelers now; setting the stage.

All will work out. I am a little bit tired today but I only have one lecture (that is a tour). First, I need to seek out some bandaids.

I still haven't figured out what to do with my hair. I want to cut it off but you don't want to do that rashly; rather, you want to find someone who will at least do his or her best to give you a flattering look. Otherwise it could, indeed, be a disaster. I've had my hair cut when abroad twice in my life. Both times I did the same thing. When in Belgium I had them hack it off to a chin-length bob; and I did the same in Hong Kong. Hong Kong was funny because I just marched into one of those little beauty shops and motioned with my hands where to cut. They did it. They also did a nice massage and you got to lie down for a while, if I remember correctly. The cut was something like $6. Cool.

OK. Well, I don't know if I have anything else to say! I missed breakfast this morning on account of the slutty Australian! (Please excuse my differentiation of what I had intended to do with Marco from what that girl did - at least I'd get a room. ;))

Ah well, life is imperfect. Must fill it with caffe espresso!

Oh PS Don't think that I sat around all day yesterday thinking about Marco. Not at all. It crossed my mind and Joan and I discussed it at the coffee shop later (after the 4S). I wasn't upset about it at all, in the sense that it did not spoil my joy or my pleasure in the day. I've grown to expect very little from M; however at the same time I am increasingly expecting so much more for myself. Things are moving in the right direction...

|

9:49 a.m. - 2009-05-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08