Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Addled, but so so so so so so cool. I love the way Italy wakes me up, brings me a fresh sense of myself.

OK, dudes, I could not be happier. I really could not.

I was grinning all the way from the airport into town. I do not (bear with me for a while - Italian keyboard) care that this is a grimy town with graffiti on five hundred year old buildings and that the Medicis have long left. I must have been Italian in another life - perhaps I died in the plague and have come back to INSTEAD be bawdy and so on in a relatively youthful incarnation - bcause this is sooo my place. I heard the Italians boarding my plane from Frankfurt - three casual dudes on a business trip and their voices were like liquid gold; their confident postures music to my eyes. I cannot help but love the Italians. This place works for me.

Bella! Bella!

I am afraid that I am too tired to do anything today. The flight arrangement was not optimal. I think that next time I will reroute to my Swi!ss Air option from Montreal to Zurich. The layover is quick and I get in much earlier. I had enough energy to take a shower, organize my stuff a bit and take a nap. I probably won't venture out until tomorrow.

I did not get a wink of sleep on the Ottawa - Frankfurt flight. I met a man on that flight who was the loveliest of men, sitting next to me, who actually LIVES in Ottawa but unfortunately otherwise reminds me a great deal of Marco! And he is 55 and his kids (he was a single dad) now grown and graduated from uni. He is too old for me. Too bad though, for he was nice. And at least he lives in Ottawa. An engineer, originally from Algeria via France. Surprisingly, too, he is very handsome for 55, with a nice physique, style, and liquid hazel eyes. Very pleasant to be with. And speaks a lovely, lovely, lovely, cultured French. I am a little bit concerned. He asked me for mes coordonnees. I gave him only my work email address. He seemed very eager. I mean, by the end he seemed ready to practically propose to me. He is meeting up with family in Marseille and said, "Italy is so close. You could join us. We have a great time. So many laughs."

Uh, dude... I am en route to ITALIAAAAA!!

So I did not get a wink of sleep on the flight and SOOO suffered in the airport in Frankfurt during my 5 hour layover. What a smelly, confusing airport. I think I knew that already. There is a strong possibility that I am going to miss my transatlantic flight on the way back (short layover), but let's not talk about that.

So...I must say that I must have had a friend build the engines on the planes winging me here. Nicely done, engineers!

Oh and nice pilots!

I shouldn't even mention this but I must admit that I am still feeling guilty for not accepting the offer to fly a day later...for $500. They had oversold the transatlantic flight. I thought about it for a second but I just. wanted. to. be. here. I also have orientation for my course tomorrow morning. But $500! EEK. I'm going to try not to think about that. My tv was not working on the plane though so I did get a voucher for that that I will most certainly redeem.

Did I mention that I am soooooooo happy to be in ITALIA?

The people at the hostel are so nice to me. The only thing is that the proprietess was concerned that when I come here I always look the same - thin!. She wants me to eat up. I had to laugh. They are giving me FREE dinner for every night that I am here! ACK. And they have given me a discount for whatever reason I have no idea. AND, tomorrow, when they have one available they are upgrading me to a single bed in a smaller dorm room, "so I will be more comfortable." The rooms are already clean and gracious and humungous and I have only 4 roommates (girls). I really don't mind. I don't need to be pampered. I am pretty sure from Marco though that it would be rude of me to offer them more money/not accept their generous hospitality. I do feel rather badly for it though.

GAWD I am so lucky. I have SOOO much good fortune in life. It scares me so much!

AH sigh. I must admit that I feel rather badly for not getting my ass out to my favourite church. Because you should always curse your own ass as you're thinking about your favourite church... :) Every time when I get here earlier in the day on a Sunday than now, I walk up to my favourite church on the hill (Roman site - 1040) and listen to the organ music. I absolutely love it. Perhaps I will try to get out and at least see a bit of sunset...after my "fattening up" dinner. (I didn't have the heart to tell her that I will be cycling a bit when here, and walking all over. I simply cannot eat enough - I already eat so much - to put on more than a modicum of weight. All of those years of running and my generally bouncy persona mean that my metabolism is still moving along. I shouldn't curse this...I actually like my body, with all of its flaws...just as it is.}

OH! The only rather compelling reason that I should NOT get out tonight is that I'm likely to be run over by something. When I showered for some reason I thought it a good idea to stick my finger in an open socket in the washroom, checking to see if it was a plug into which I could in future put my blowdryer. I have noooooo idea - I mean, asbolutely NO idea - why I thought this was a good idea, or even what I thougnt my finger was going to tell me. I am really losing it. I had to laugh - introducing myself to Italia by nearly electrocuting myself. So, needless to say, there is an Italian vehicle careering around corners right now that has my name on it...and I simply ought to avoid the opportunity for my addled brain not to understand that it might be coming at me...

OK! Will write about people and cool stuff tomorrow. I think that I will be meeting Joan, although my phone won't be up and running until I get to the phone store tomorrow afternoon. I have no idea how to load more money onto it. So...I won't be reachable. Things will work out though. Very, very excited. Hope you are all spectacularly well, bellas and bellos galore! :)

|

5:05 p.m. - 2009-05-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08