Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am a WINTER girl after all!

Hello!

I'm glad that you enjoyed my woodpecker and skating videos! I had so much fun yesterday!

First, C. and I skated, of course.

Afterwards, C. and I hung around his house eating turkey soup and grilled cheese sandwiches (my request) and watching videos.

I was at home in the evening posting the videos, as I didn't feel like going to that concert that I had mentioned (plus it turns out that the Afghanistan movie is next weekend). But then the phone rang and K. and P. invited me out to a little bistro in the Gl3be for dinner. I jumped in the shower and off we went.

The only problem is that this is OTTAWA and when we got to the bistro their kitchen had already closed. There is a busier part of Ottawa (the market area), but we didn't feel like driving there. We managed to find another restaurant that at 9:30 on a SATURDAY NIGHT was still serving food (do you see why this is called the "big zero," the "town that fun forgot," even though it is the fourth largest census metropolitan area in the country?) (Of course that's unfair, since Ottawa-Gatineau as the fourth largest city in the country is partly on the Quebec side of the border. I wouldn't know, but apparently the best strip bars in the country are on THAT side of the river. Politicians, you know. I'm guessing, therefore, that one can find food after 10 p.m. in the territory the French Canadians have staked out. :))

Anyhow. In spite of it being Ottawa on a Saturday night, we had a great time and I had on balance a wonderful day. I drank a bit too much wine, however, so I was in bed until 10 a.m. I really only had about a glass and a half, but still I needed the sleep.

I'm up now, obviously, and I have a few wee things to say.

First, I hope that when we're in California Mz. Bee will take Anna and I roller skating! This desire stems from the fact that when I haul out my stereotypes of California, either roller blading or skating around a roller rink in leg warmers are those that pop to top of mind. Maybe in a midriff top. You'd like to see pics of the three of us doing that, right? ;-)

Just kidding!


I did like to roller skate in the 70s. I BEGGED my parents to buy me some. I loved it. I was never that crazy about ice, because I was ALWAYS cold.

Actually, though, I did learn to ice skate quite young because my mother had taught figure skating when she was a teenager. One of her skating friends from her teen years used to visit us. This lady was very pretty and was a professional skater in the Ice Capades, I believe. At any rate, I enjoyed having her visit.

When I was a kid in TOronto we used to go to public rinks, of course, but when we visited my grandparents what my brothers and I would do is clear off the creek on the farm and skate on that, cracks and all. I never learned to properly figure skate, although I can do a few small twirls and jumps, and also a sitting duck and a really poor camel. I'm more of a 'power' skater, and love to charge along the ice. :) Sadly, when my brother Chris signed up for power skating to enter hockey, they wouldn't allow me in as well even though I was older, since at that time girls were not yet permitted to play in the hockey leagues. I didn't really want to play hockey, but I wanted to skate with power. If only they'd had a speed skating oval nearby...

Anyhow...So today I'll be skating again. I just love the freedom of it. I don't feel much like running these days, so it's a nice alternative.


SO...I was going to say something else. My memory has defeated me. Oh! Man from Venus wondered why there are no ice sculptures along the canal. But sir, there WILL BE! Wint3rlude (the carnival) begins next week. At that time the First Nations ice sculptors are out on the canal/at the lake. Ice sculptors from around the world come to create sculptures in Confederation Park near to me. So I will go out and take photos and will post them. I did go to see the sculptures last year, and C. and I even danced a bit in the ice disco (yes, you read correctly), but for some reason I either didn't take or post photos. Maybe I had forgotten my camera! Not sure!!

OK. I'd better drink some tea and eat breakfast. I think that C. will be round for a skate in an hour or so. I'm going to be out skating with K and P in the afternoon as well, if they ever get around to buying their skates.

A happy winter day to you all!

|

10:20 a.m. - 2009-02-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08