Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Will pasta settle this?

I read so many wonderful things today. How can one be unhappy when there are so many fascinating things in the world?

I thought about liberalism and laissez faire. I thought about the unwritten lives of generations of women. I thought about science and atheism. I thought about becoming an actor and moving to a loft in New York.

I think I also thought of roaming around in the highlands in Scotland. I thought about making a pilgrimage to Florence specifically to see Gallileo's finger.

I thought about the AT LEAST one thousand books of fiction I want to read before I die.

Do you know, related to the last point, that the only thing that has TRULY, deeply frightened me lately was a casual mention in a report on the environment that something or other will certainly have happened by 2070. The report also specified that if one is of such and such an age one will see it or not, but likely that one's children will be around for the event, provided that they were born after such and such a date.

I know it sounds extremely strange that THIS specification of an actual date in the future of this century should have me suddenly worrying about my mortality, but it is true - I would be 100 years of age in 2070. Of course, I might just make it to such a ripe old age. I've always had the feeling that I am unusually hardy. I might be out of my mind on that one but I do think that.

But what a disturbing thought, to think that within this century, of which we are already in the tenth year, I will at some point cease to exist and thus cease to be able to continue reading. It seems so short, this thinking in centuries thing. I think that rounding to the billion at work every day has diminished the weight of piddly two and three-digit numbers for me. I am veritably distressed...

Well, I'm thinking of running a little bit and then throwing in the video that I rented last night. That could be a good end to the weekend.

|

6:28 p.m. - 2009-01-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08