Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Very friendly people out today.

Back home from work.

I'm not really sure WHY I went to work today. It seems a rip-off that some people have to TAKE that day out of their leave budget if they don't come in, whilst the rest of us show up and do nothing!

(I mean, they were serving Bailey's coffee in the boardroom by 10:15 a.m. :))

Anyhow. I showed up, waiting for an emergency that didn't happen. :)


I must say that although my mother has a strange way of celebrating Christmas - she emailed me for my shortbread cookie recipe and then I haven't heard from her since - the package that she sent a while ago was really nice. It wasn't wrapped properly so I didn't realize that it was a Christmas gift. In it was a scarf that she had knitted and a gift card for the bookstore. It took her 38 years but she finally figured out that MY FAVOURITE THING IN THE WORLD IS BOOKS!

Better late than never! A very nice surprise. I went to the bookstore today and bought myself a Blu3 Guide to Venice. They're imperfect books, but I like the Blu3 Guides because they are "art" guides to the cities. They have one or two pages in the back with more general travel information, but otherwise they are all about the art treasures. They're adequately thorough and correct that if you find something interesting you've had enough of a taste that you know exactly what additional material you desire.

I also bought a book for C. I'm afraid to give it to him for Christmas, since his thesis defense is on the 5th of January. He loves fantasy books that I always feel embarrassed to purchase, but nevertheless I got him one. :) I'm afraid that he'll read it rather than continue with his school reading...

I also got a very cool book that I'd wanted to get for M., since he has a lot of time on his hands this winter and because he has been thinking about adventure travel. The book has a Canadian twist because it is about a Canadian guy who circumnavigated the world by human power. Much of it he cycled. So I hope that that interests him. I wish I could think of something that I could make, but I'm thinking that the best I can do is give him a coupon for a home-cooked dinner when I go back and rent my apartment.

On that note though, I must admit that in the last couple of days I've been doubting if I'll want to go back to Italy in the spring. I suppose I'll wait and see.

So there was really no point to this entry! Whilst walking around today I found everyone to be filled with good cheer. It was delightful. I feel quite content and relaxed. I bought a bottle of wine. C. will be cooking tonight. All I have to do today is curl up in a chair and read.

OH! I forgot to mention that my landlord has died. I was very happy to learn today that because the family hasn't been able to reach everyone, they are going to hold a memorial for him in mid-January. So that is a relief, because now I can attend.

OK! I'll sign off. As usual, I'm making much ado about absolutely nothing. I could sit here and wish that I had a family for whom to prepare Christmas Eve - it does give me a twinge of sadness every year that I have no children - but whatever - you go on. I am very lucky. I should not want for more today.

Merry Christmas AGAIN!

|

2:31 p.m. - 2008-12-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08