Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Days

I'm back AGAIN! Can you believe it?

I woke up this morning thinking of the statement by Virgil on the National W@r Memorial:

�Nulla dies umquam memori vos eximet aevo�

No day will ever erase you from the m3mory of time.

It was bothering me last night, as as I was walking home (I walk by the National War Memorial, although it is in the middle of a large island between several roads, so I couldn't get to it without waiting for the lights last night, which I didn't do), I couldn't remember the exact words.

I came upon the statement last week as I was climbing up the stairs from the canal. It is a new addition, with a row of sculptures of soldiers that I believe they have labeled "The Vali@nts," to represent all of the soldiers who have fought in the various conflicts of which we have been a part, including during the ancien regime of the French.

Funnily enough though, as much as I loved the statement, it bothered me that the French translation I think misses the message. The French translation omits the "day" part, stating that NOTHING will ever erase you from the memory of time. (Rien ne vous effacera jamais de la m�moire du temps.)

What is beautiful about Virgil's statement to me is EXACTLY the DAY part. I was walking to the bookstore at the time that I saw it, and I thought, "THAT'S exactly the point."

Each day has contained within it an entire life. And if you break it down into smaller, manageable bits - and this is the key for us humans, these manageable bits - you can live and live well. Each day has so much hope within it, that comes with the rising of the sun. Whatever happens, the sun will go to sleep and the moon will rise at the end of it, and your breathing in and out and walking forward and spilling coffee all over your shirt will have been a part of it.

So as I walk by the message on the wall that is slightly sunken below the street, I want to hold that particular message in my breast:

No day, nulla dies, will ever erase you from the memory of time.

It's not a message to me about others remembering one, of course. It's just awareness of the connectedness of everything all at once. If you can live in that awareness you can live well. Of course, you say: You're in the NOW.

Yes, that's basically it. But I like it framed in the form of a day, because we all function as a part of a whole set of complex interactions, layered and circled like a giant V3nn diagram. Now is good, but when you slip the day is there to hold you. Maybe my approach is baby step meditation for me. Maybe I still need a frame within which to work. :)

What to do today. It is a GLORIOUS day. I'll have to go out, for sure. With my camera.

Oh! I really think that I'm going to Paris for Christmas. I can't explain it but it feels right - just like when I booked Florence last April. I just knew. I'll have a tough time telling my friends "No!" to Barcelona, though. THey are very cool people and I know I'd have a great time with them. They like me just as I am, and would be totally cool with me taking off on my own whenever the whim struck me. Ah, how lucky am I to be faced with these choices?

|

10:47 a.m. - 2008-11-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08