Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The moon out my skylight is full. I'd better remember to close it else I'll have a squirrel visitor in the night again, I'm sure. :)

Thanks, guys. (Or rather girls - you're wonderful!)

You're going to laugh though.

I was sitting at the pub and thinking about what it was like to go on dates with guys met online...and I realized that I just can't do it!

Really, I'm a wimp. It is a horrible thing though to go on mindless dates with low-IQ guys just looking to get laid. So I'm going to take down the profile once and for all and I'm going to FORCE myself to go out and join things for smart people. :) Surely some guy will be suckered by the baby blues. ;-) The alternative strategy would, of course, be to post the harridan picture that I tried to do to emulate Anna's. Anna's is WAY better. :)

MINE

Some guy in university told me that everyone in his fraternity called me the girl with the bug eyes. I was scarred, I tell you. Actually, no. Morons. :) My eyes are not at all bulbous. Personally I find that my laugh is my biggest asset though. It's a heartier laugh than you'd expect from a bird-like person like me. I was laughing a great deal at the pub tonight.

I was laughing mostly because I was being an idiot. C came along and joined me a while after I got there. It was good in that I like it when C. is relaxed and happy. It was bad in that I had been reading a labour supply paper and I couldn't finish it with him there. Doh!

So I've made so many interesting GOALS, and like BoXx - you have inspired me SO much, BoXx, you have NO IDEA - I am committing to them as done deals.

The commitments are this:

- sign up for at least one course to start after I get back from Italia. This can be a drawing course or a wine-drinking (ahem, tasting) course, or a Spanish course. I don't care. I'm going to do one of them.

- next time I see the mountain bike dude I am going to talk to him. Even if he totally rejects me and thinks I'm a tool (I am, really :)), I don't care. Why not take chances in life? (Of course you'd be forgiven for suggesting that this is really just as random a way to date as is online dating. :) But, in my defense, I will say that there is something about his demeanour that makes me think that I would like him. I think, honestly, that he reminds me of M. And speaking of which, I didn't see it, but C. said that he has a little Italia flag on the back of his jersey. :))

-turn off the 'Net and read more. This is not to say that I won't be posting or reading here, but I spend too much time reading on the Internet. There are a couple of big models that I want to take over at work and to do that I need to build my understanding of a number of different literatures and refresh my memory of some empirical techniques that I haven't used in a while. This year is going to be about being the SUPER POWER EB at work.
I'm also going to read more books from start to finish, i.e. turn off the movies and set up a cute little arm chair in my bedroom so that I can read without falling asleep. (I always read in bed before I go to sleep, but I ALWAYS fall asleep before I've read more than 20 pages, unless I'm nearing the end of a good novel.

-practise drawing, starting tomorrow, to get ready for Italia.

The time to fix all of these things is NOW. And they have to be done incrementally. So I must start and bite off a small chunk each day.

By the way, I drank one Guinness for me and a half pint for one of you. I wish I were a more valiant drinker but as it is I made a fool of myself (which C. pointed out).

Actually, the problem was mostly that I ATE WAY TOO MUCH. With apologies to the vegetarians among you, I made a beef burger with spinach at home in the afternoon, and then at the pub I had a lamb curry wrap with salad and a few big chunky chips. And THEN I had an apple and pear crumble with a gigantic scoop of ice cream. In my defense, I have a half a lamb curry wrap in the fridge to take for lunch tomorrow. C. was laughing his head off though, because with the Guinness, I was trying to politely and quietly burp a little bit. Oops! ;)

You really can't take me anywhere. I went over to thank the musician as we left and I asked him when he would be playing again. Unfortunately, as I would have known HAD I BEEN LISTENING, they aren't from here.

SO on the way home I had to listen to C. ribbing me for being tipsy.

Really, I'm not tipsy. Let us just call it giddy on life.

OH WELL.

A lovely weekend! I hope that yours were the same. :)

Oh, PS, Anna: I LOVE the Lady of Sh@lott. So much. And I can't help myself but also love the pre-Raphaelites.

|

10:25 p.m. - 2008-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08