Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sauna-living gets me riled up.

You know, I'm really annoyed right now.

There's this famous doctor in Canada. A hero, really. He pretty much single-handedly got women in this country abortion rights. To boot, he's 86 and is a holocaust survivor and has recently had a stroke. They've waited long enough.

So recently the government of Canada gave him the Ord3r of Canada. It's a national service award, sort of like the Order of the British Emp!re.

People who have achieved things in many fields get it. It's given fairly liberally, so I don't think that necessarily all of the people who have received it are THAT great.

So of course as soon as they give it to THIS guy, who is THE champion of women's rights in Canada of the last half century, religious people who have received the order in the past have started returning their orders.

What pisses me off is that they are getting A LOT of media attention.

And you know, I'm completely sympathetic to people holding different views. They are entitled to believe that abortion is wrong.

But by giving back their orders what they are saying is that NO ONE CAN CONTRIBUTE TO CANADA WHO HOLDS AND ACTS ON A DIFFERENT VIEW FROM THEIRS.

And of course it's a completely ridiculous response given that I am sure that there are many abortion proponents among those holding the order prior to this guy. And I'm pretty damn sure that there are order-holders who have CONDUCTED abortions, too.

I find it petty and uncivil. And, frankly, the antithesis of the love that is supposed to be embedded in faith. And now I think even *less* of their cause.

I had to say that. I just couldn't help myself. I'd like to get a photographs of H3nry Morgantal3r and plaster them all over my office and my house.

Anyhow.

I do get enraged by things, don't I?

Well, whatever. I am hot and bothered. It is hot in my house.

Hi from the country:

Hi from Chianti. ;-)

>

Totally different bike guide, obviously. :) Cute. Irish. Funny.

Wish we could stop and have a drink...

the Giovanni Boccaccio way. (That tickled me pink, I cannot tell you.:) You know, Black D3ath and bawdy monk sex talk inclusive.)

OK. I'm kind of calm now. :)

|

6:31 p.m. - 2008-07-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08