Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Je suis chanceuse!

Oh my gosh, I have a few things to write.

SO I didn't sleep well last night. Not sure why. Well, my stomach was not feeling great when I got to bed. I think I ate too many raisins - I kind of pigged out on them after my run - so I tossed and turned for a while. Everything in moderation.

But then French was shockingly good today. I got to class and we had a substitute. Instead of the grumpy, older dude we had a phenomenally handsome young guy dressed up in a grey suit and a sharp shirt - stylin. And to boot he was full of energy and rules of grammar and we were all learning and soaking it up.

To top it off, too, when he asked me to introduce myself I gave a little spiel and he looked at me in amazement. Have you studied French at university, he asked? You speak naturally!

It's so not true but it must be true relative to my peers. So at least I'm improving, I suppose.

Anyhow. It turns out that this dude has not only a doctorat en philosophie from the SORBONNE, but a doctorat en theologie from Marc-Strasbourg I think. He was super sharp. And in that way of the well-educated Africans he was such a pedant with respect to grammar. I loved it. He was a super star.

The only thing is that as the class progressed and I was examining his theses, which he offered, I realized that he is from the Democratic Republic of Congo. Even before this, too, I was feeling quite heart sick over the fact that this brilliant, sparkling guy had to be teaching at some crappy language school that the government contracts with in order to provide language training. I speculate that he is not making a great hourly wage.

It really breaks my heart to think about the way that some people of great talent and discipline and motivatoin have to fight their way as refugees or immigrants into even a decent level of earnings, when stupid lazy people like me just get it all handed to them on a plate. I mean, it's just not fair. I spent the rest of the class feeling so sad and sorry for the state of the world. I hoped that he wouldn't lose his fire and energy and optimism and passion for teaching by the stupid non-accreditation system and prejudice that he will encounter along the way.

BUt then I found out after the class - I had been late, of course, so I hadn't heard this - that he has a job as a lecturer at the Catholic university here and that he is teaching FOUR languages part-time: French, Hebrew, Greek, Latin.

WOW.

I wish I could give this guy my salary so that he could bring his family over here or something. I bow down to his drive and passion.

So then after I started feeling better I worked my little wee arse off this afternoon. Only problem was that the senior economist was back from his vacation. (I'm not speaking of my boss - he's still away.) I had been much more productive and relaxed last week. Today he kept on interrupting me. He really is well-meaning for the most part, I believe, but my goodness I wish he would leave me alone. I might have to close my door tomorrow. I'm sure not before he'll parade by to scare me in his too-tight running shorts at lunch. Eew.

So when I got to the office, too, that erratic Dan had emailed to tell me that he was home sick with his sore back still, and that therefore he'd rather take me for ice cream than to have a full dinner. I decided that we should just delay until next week, and so I have tonight free. I'm rather glad as I'm exhausted.

SO what else? Well I got home to check out my dating site stuff - I'd entered crazy new taglines yesterday, and wanted to see what I'd caught - and I realized yet again that the quality of guys in Ottawa is just LOUSY.

I mean, really lousy. They are all exactly the same. None of them can spell. None of them can write. None of them can think of anything to write other than "I'm looking for someone attractive and sexy and a real woman (and read: who will give me backrubs and turn into a beer and pizza at midnight)."

I just don't get why these guys don't understand that NO ONE IS LOOKING FOR SOMEONE UNATTRACTIVE!

I mean, they must have at least enough brain cells to surmise this, non.

So before I seem REALLY petty and snide, I'm going to tell you the funniest thing about this dating site. As I've noted, the pool of crappy guys is the same as it was, oh, when i was on a year ago.

(I'm sure that they're saying the same thing about me, but I digress.)

So the funny thing is that in the only period in which I went on a lot of dates - when I first moved to the big O in September of 2006 - I met a particular guy who then contacted me AGAIN just the other day. He seems to have forgotten that we actually went on a date at the time. And apart from the guy who asked me for the ticket stubs for the tickets that I had bought for the symphony so that he could use them as a business expense on his tax return, and then expected me to pay for the parking...and THEN ran out of gas, this recent re-contact dude was the worst date I HAVE EVER HAD.

So this worst-date guy had written to me in 2006 and he had actually been quite funny. His pictures were fuzzy and showed that he was short and fat - no big worry if a GREAT guy - but nothing like the real person.

We arranged to meet at a coffee shop. I got to the coffee shop and did NOT RECOGNIZE him. FInally he waved and I saw that he was at least 10 years older than in his photographs. In any event, not THAT big of a deal. I'm not that superficial, though lying is annoying.

So I sat down and the guy proceeded to tell me about his life as a conservative speech writer for the Pee EMM OOO. Read that out and you'll probably figure out what I mean to say. SO I HATE CONSERVATIVES! Well, not exactly, but kind of.

BUt even this I could tolerate, in a random kind of Mich@el J. F0x - love flashback.


The thing is that the lump on a log 1) stayed seated; 2) did not offer me a chair; 3) did not even OFFER to buy me a coffee...

I'm not into guys buying me things. It is not necessary. But if you ask someone on a date to a *coffee* shop I think you could probably offer to buy them a coffee. It's just unmannerly not to do so.

So let me continue. The guy then proceeded to tell me about all of the problems he'd had in getting any girls interested in him, how he doesn't make much money, how he's not sure if he'll be keeping his job...He wasn't funny even once. He wasn't even interesting. ANd he didn't ask anything about me.

You can tell that I was understanding but not very excited by this point. I think, actually, at this point, that I offered to buy HIM a coffee.

So then, and this is the topper, he told me that girls seem to be turned off by the fact that he doesn't actually have REAL furniture in his apartment, but rather PATIO furniture serving as actual furniture.

You know, I'm pretty tolerant, but patio furniture in your living room is not exactly my idea of great style.


Anyhow. So I find it funny that this guy would contact me again now. Perhaps he's divested himself of his patio furniture living room suite and wants to show the replacements to me?

Now that I write this though I realize that it is completely understandable that he would want to date me again. I actually listened to him and I bought him a coffee. I think I actually spent two hours with the guy, and then politely told him that we were not a match but to keep trying yadda yadda.

I think that that's all. You see, it's a hopeless case. I'm a completely hopeless case. ;)

The funny thing is that some senior guy who almost never talks to me came by to thank me for my work today, and told me that unlike other people I always do my work with a smile and that he's never seen me grumpy!

Lucky him! I take out all of my grumpies in my diary!

I'm not sure if being smiley wins one any awards at the Line Dance department, but oh well. Being yellow all the time does have its rewards though - the admins always call down the hallway, "HELLO SUNSHINE!" And do you know what? I'll take that. :)

|

6:57 p.m. - 2008-04-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08