Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Life feels a bit overpacked at the moment. I think I need a pact to get home at a reasonable time tomorrow.

Oh my goodness long day.

It had to be -29 tonight.

I had French today. And I read papers all day.

And then it was volunteering with the furniture for refugees group. It is an excellent organization. Not until you actually see how people live do you realize what it is like for them. I always thought I knew...

Not only did we deliver apartment loads of furniture to families with next to nothing, living in ice-covered suburban wildernesses, but we picked up furniture.

And you know, it makes me really sad but it is not rich people who are giving away furniture to refugees. No, it is old people and lower middle income people. And these people give you this old, ugly stuff that they have yet taken great care to clean and prepare for people.

We didn't have enough furniture to give tonight, so for one family we could only give a tiny tv and a stool for a tv stand.

The one man whispered at us at the elevator, "I need to ask you - is this stuff mine? Do I need to give it back?"

Honestly, I feel so sad. I feel so sad. Seeing these people crammed into depressing little apartments, in a country like this.

And in spite of having qualifications they will have difficulty finding good work.

It's all so horrible.

I feel horrible.

And tomorrow I go to my cushy office that I HATE, to get paid well for not really doing much. Naval gazing, I guess. And I live in a big, huge apartment all by myself.

So there you go. I think I need to pour myself a glass of wine and eat a baguette. And appreciate what I have.

OH lordy though there was a woman volunteer there tonight who was hysterical. (My friends secretly called her the "chicken lady.") Incidentally, tonight there were only women volunteers - no dudes to do the heavy lifting. This was a little bit off-putting to the old men from whom we picked up furniture like sofa beds, as they were unable to help us carry it. Little did they know that although little I'm as strong as an ox. :)

ANyhow.

So the hysterical one was one of those volunteers - there always is one - who is more of a hindrance than a help. She really seems to be senile or something, and was completely clueless about what to do. Mostly she stepped on my toes. And asked me 25 times what it means that there is a $5000 limit on the new t@x-free savings account that we announced in the Fudge It yesterday. And in between stops she kept on getting lost. Poor lady. It was kind of amusing although kind of sad, too. But I guess you don't look a volunteer horse in the mouth. :)


OK. I should do something useful with myself. Like maybe eat something. I must indeed go back to work tomorrow.

And did I mention that I bought a ticket to go to see La Trav!ata two weeks today? I got one that is centre orchestra. ACK! I'm so excited. And I have the ballet on Friday (also centre orchestra!) And I have another dance concert to see on the 7th! ACK! So much cultural indulgence! I think I did write about this. To be perfectly honest, it makes me want to go out and buy a bright red dress. :)

Cheerio!

|

11:05 p.m. - 2008-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08