Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah, I'm not oooolllld...

Ooooooohhhhh I am a haggis mcbaggis.

I'm so tired. Amanda and I ran for 1 hour 50 mins tonight in the blistering cold. When I got home I had to lie in the bathtub (face down!) with a Lus- bath "bomb" to thaw myself out and soften my skin.

Then I felt tired. And then I started eating muesli and drinking chocolate milk.

And then I did some stretching and some push-ups and ab exercises with my ball. You know - and this is an embarrassing, sacred confession - when I was running before - I mean well - I was always too impatient to stretch much. Can you imagine? Honestly, at this point I genuinely wonder how much faster I would have been able to run had I taken care of business. I was so laid back about everything. Perhaps I'm too unstructured for my own good. :) So these people I've been meeting...they've been putting me on the right track.

Speaking of which, my cycling substitute teacher yesterday was very sweet. He's got a bit of a pot belly but apparently he was a competitive cyclist for twenty years. I think he retired in the last year or so because of a back injury. I don't know anything about the guy, but I found him rather amusing and cute in a sort of cuddly, high-endurance, power-cycling kind of way. :)

See, I'm becoming open-minded! I'm starting to look around at guys!

I had a scary thought when I was running home from Am's turnoff tonight, though. I'll spare you the thought until later. It's about the poet scientist. I was running on the ice, incidentally. I used to do that and was pleasantly surprised to find out that Am. likes to do that, too. Great minds think alike! It's nice to be on the level of the canal with the skaters (it's a wide canal), and there's plenty of snow on the sides to make the running easy. It's like running next to a carnival. It feels special. They actually have cool teepees with wood stoves with fires burning, and interesting ice sculptures set up at various points, e.g. at about 4 k and at about 7.5 k, so that part is very nice and refreshing. Am. and I ran into one of the giant teepees at the lake to check out the ice sculptures there. There was a gorgeous ice canoe and an ice chief. Very cool, especially in the flickering fire light.

OHHHHHHHH so cold though. Bitter. I can't believe that poeple actually think it is fun to build and sleep in ice hotels. OK, so maybe it is fun. I'd definitely need a fur blanket or three before I'd agree to do it. I know, I shouldn't have said fur. Still, cold just takes it out of me. It's a dark, clear night which always scares me a little. It's only -17 but there was definitely a brisk wind.

Now I'm cooking fish and potatoes.

In another hour and a half I need to go to bed. Tomorrow morning I have my French class.

I really, really like this Amanda girl with whom I am running. We've clicked. And I'm really enjoying the runs. It's good to be able to support each other. It's all good.

OK. I'm either going to start drooling or sleeping on my keyboard, so I think I'll call it a night.

Bonsoir!

|

10:24 p.m. - 2008-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08