Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good grief I do hope it's not the early onset of some outrageous disease of mental degradation! (Feel free to leave honest comments...I don't offend easily.. :))

Just back from watching Aton3ment at the theatre with C. An unsurprisingly forgettable movie, but my goodness give me some more Van3ssa R3dgrave. She made the movie with 4 minutes on screen. Similar brilliance in a slight role in V3nus...(And incidentally the movie tickets were $7.99. I'd heard a couple of people ahead of me get charged this price but I thought it was because they were all seniors. Is there such a thing as a lonely Christmas Day movie watcher pity price? If so, I want no part of it! ;-))

I know that I'm selfish and covetous of my time and privacy, but I must say that this has been one of my happiest Christmases ever. I relish and cherish the quiet. I feel a peace that I've rarely felt before at the holidays.

'Nuff said.

I had written a long entry earlier this evening prior to the movie, documenting some interesting revelations that I've had in the last couple of days, as well as the 7 mile walk that C. and I took along the canal today, but I'll write a better version (and provide the photographic evidence) perhaps tomorrow. Tonight instead I'll tell an amusing story.

I stayed up REALLY late last night. It was practically the morning. I don't know quite why I did it, but I was engrossed in my knitting and sort of buzzing with good humour. I watched Al@stair Sim get haunted by a double exposure of course and then listened to the radio, music.

SO of course I slept in very late this morning. I awoke to the Hallelujah chorus of the M3ssiah on C33BC, so that tells you that it was almost noon or so.

I eventually stumbled into the living room to pull the drapes open wide and let in the sunshine, fumbled with the dial to turn on the living room radio, started fussing with my computer...

Now I should tell you that the CeeBC often features famous people reciting things. They cut tape from various places, invite famous voices - e.g. J2an Chreti3n, former premier ministr3, to recite stutteringly and grossly amusingly his wife's tortiere recipe (with the disclaimer that of course he has not made it h333mself) at about 5:30 p.m. this evening -and otherwise present snippets of plays and so on for the advancement of our collective national education.


That was my little pseudo-defense; now here's the story.

SO I'm sitting there - actually, exactly here, at my computer, as always- and I'm thinking "Gee, Judi D3nch is doing an absolutely bloody bang-up job of presenting a Christmas story about the disadvantaged. Good on you, old girl! But what the heck is the she doing on the radio in Canada on xmas day? Well, whatever - she's sure doing a good job."

I really thought this. No joke. My brain has taken a holiday.

In my further defence, no coffee had yet been consumed, I was in a Hand3l's M3ssiah stupor, the sun was blindingly, glitteringly reflecting from the snow on the roof next door and streaming through my living room window...

It was the Qu33n! It was the Qu33n! She was of course presenting her yeeeeahhly Christmas message to the Commonw3alth.

In school in the 1970s we sang "God Save the Qu33n" every day. I used to watch the Christmas message on tv with my grandmother. How could I have forgotten?

The memory is a miraculously selective thing. :)

And that ends this Christmas broadcast from the big O. I hope that all ye are well and happy and overstuffed.

:)

I've had a perfectly lovely xmas, thank you kindly! C. and I exchanged books as is our tradition, last night, and his was a truly lovely and thoughtful choice - it's beautiful.

And here are two of my absolute favourites. Oscar Peterson was one of my personal heroes when I was a kid. A great talent. He's featured particularly from about 3:30.

Time now for a Christmas treat of Ch3rry Garc!a frozen yogurt...Mmmmmm.....all mine...C has gone home... :)

|

9:27 p.m. - 2007-12-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08