Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OLE!

ACK! I just lost my entry.

So it has been such a lovefest at work lately - with everyone stopping by to talk, emailing, or taking me for coffee or lunch before I go - that I have hardly managed to get any work done.

ACK! Evil Ben :) returns from Montreal on Friday and I have my two final papers to give to him at that time that are uh...in progress.


ACKKK! Super ACK! (Really, I love Ben. And he loves me. The Ben love for Enfin and the Enfin love for Ben are slightly at variance, I suspect, which is part of the issue simmering beneath the surface, but nevermind.)

The people at work really are lovely, though. I will miss so many of them. And I've been meeting even more new, friendly people lately and so it is sadness-inducing to think of not having the chance to get to know them better.

And of course there will be no more bald *eagle* "sightings."

Sigh.

My friend D. sent me this picture of himself today. (Bear in mind that he sits two offices from me.)

Everyone needs a friend like D, methinks. ;-)

OK. I think I will eat a bit, jog a bit, and then DO SOME WORK! :)

Cringe.

(PS Tomorrow is my final spinning class. I'm trying not to get my hopes up.)

A final interesting thing about today was that when I was supposed to be working in the morning I decided instead to attend a seminar that interested me. My director general raised an eyebrow when she saw me there I think - though not far, what is she going to do - but it was so interesting, how could I miss it? It was about school vouchers - what we're doing about them, what is the academic evidence (this I knew some of, anyhow), and what has gone wrong elsewhere. Altogether it was a lively and useful talk.

Well, useful to someone with a related job, I suppose.

But I'm the kind of geek who likes to sit at home on the weekend reading academic papers, so what can you do? N. was telling me about her academic husband who is about to publish a book - with a case study contained therein on federalism in Belgium - and my first thought was, "I have to buy that book, give me the title!"

Honestly, there really is something wrong with me. Why don't I want to go out and do fun things like everyone else?

A girl at work today suggested that I join the Ottawa Sp0rts and S0ci@al Club. This is in principal a good idea, but really all it is is an intramural sports league and I have always sucked at anything involving coordination and team play. It is not that I cannot get along with the other people. It is not that I cannot run (clearly). It is that I always run in the wrong direction and so serve no useful purpose on any team. Oh and I have very poor balance and spatial judgment so I often bump into people and frustrate them in their attempts to carry through a play!

Plus it costs money.

Anyhow.

I really need to get a date somehow.

I'm going to put a sign up outside my office. :)

OK. I'll stop complaining now and will eat something.

Oh. The girl I liked from the Hallowe'en party invited me today to a "ladies only brunch" on the 25th! Cool, huh? Should be fun.

I'll be sure to leave my papers on school vouchers at home.

Oh, also, the poet scientist sent me his pictures from his trip to Chile, last night, and amongst them was a kissing picture of him and his girlfriend. I didn't need to see that. :(

|

7:39 p.m. - 2007-11-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08