Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm starting in on a 500g chocolate bar as I write this. Mmmmm....

So you know what I say to dates like that?

Thank G-d, I might actually have sex again in my lifetime!

So what I was thinking throughout my date last night was that it is SO pathetic that good dates come along so infrequently that a man being well-mannered, charming, sincere, on time, thoughtful, patient and classy gets a round of applause.

I mean, what have we come to?

Sitting in the pub on the date last night I felt a bit like I do when I finally venture into a posh hair salon for a good cut. I look in the mirrors under the bright lights and think, �My goodness have I honestly been walking around looking like *that* all this while!?!??�

The scientist is my everyday slop-tastic hair disaster. This guy---hmmm, must think of a name---has reminded me that I want the full spa treatment with a side order of dry humour.

So I can�t exactly tell you what this guy does; I think I�d die of mortification to tell you where he works, too. I don�t usually go for the MBA type.

He�s a bit different, though, as he came to that from an entrepreneurial background�also, usually, not the type that I attract. Cool, though. Cool. His last serious girlfriend was an academic, so at least I know that his type is in my ballpark.

So when the date was over last night he told me that he had had a really nice time and that he�d call me when he gets back from business in London. I think he�s back on Friday. I�m not exactly going to be waiting by the phone, but let me tell you that I will go against pattern and actually pick it up when it rings on the weekend. I might even make some effort to dress up when I see him next. I�m so blas� about dates these days that I wore a pair of black trousers and a black t-shirt last evening (and even *gulp* a puffy parka--the laziness of it!)�sort of my sculptress in the studio gone snowboarding look. My only attempt at femininity was with a pair of little dangly blue glass earrings. Next time I�ll crank the leg factor up a notch or two or three. Time after that I�ll consider letting my hair down. And then, maybe, if he�s lucky, a bit of d�colletage. It�s good to have a few weapons remaining in the closet.

I scare myself. All the things that men think about women like me are�true.

****

I just got a sweet, post-date email which contained the following: "I'm now convinced that you execute this 'under promise and over deliver' strategy flawlessly."

|

6:03 p.m. - 2006-11-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08