Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am hungover, but I had a nice time.

OK. So hot date last night.

Well, you know, when you're a nerd like me all "hot" means in this context is lots of book talk and muted sexual tension.

But anyhow. So I think the scientist really likes me, and I think he's a classy and wonderful guy.

We met at the restaurant and he started our conversation by giving me the gift of a copy of Pr!de and Pr3judice. Seems he'd remembered that I'd mentioned that my mother has a bad habit of never returning my books, my latest copy of that one being the most recent of those.

What is not to like about a guy who remembers a conversation you had two months ago, and who is happily seen in public with a copy of Pride and Prejudice under his arm?

He's a sweetheart. And though I'm tired, I'm currently waiting for him to arrive at my door to take me to breakfast before we head to the National War Memorial for the Remembrance Day ceremony. (Good thing it's raining, as this ceremony always makes me want to weep. At 11 there will be silence and then prayers for the dead and the Last Post and there will be barely-standing old guys in Sunday suits with medals pinned to them and bagpipes playing on. Oh the bagpipes.)

In other brief news, I think I've decided that if I have my job situation secured for January or at least for some point in the winter by December, I'll go to Europe for Christmas. Why not? I want to look at beautiful things and draw and have a pretty little hotel room to myself and pretend that I am an internationally exploring, cultured, free woman. Wait, I am these things. :) In theory, anyhow.

Oh yeah, I confess that there was no hot and heavy stuff whatsoever with the scientist last night. I simply don't do that these days. I don't know why. Actually, I was surprised when I hugged him at the end of the evening to feel that he has a lovely, broad chest. He's tall, too, and handsome in a very distinguished way. And 35 and mature. And, unfortunately, only separated (still married). I don't do that. Nice to imagine, though. I know, I know, I'm such a rigid traditionalist. And I would never judge anyone else for doing differently. I'm just...funny that way. In a way it is just that I want to be with someone to whom I am an important, valuable person. I want to be deeply appreciated, and with clear-eyed perspective. Hmm. :)

The rain looks absolutely dreadful. Pneumonia weather. Coffee time.

|

9:06 a.m. - 2006-11-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08